Greater Ottawa Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.45 / 10

Release Date: December 08, 2017
Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 18, 2018 12:39:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Itís a work of art and like a modern faerie tale

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, March 17, 2018 5:17:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Strange. Can't believe this won best picture

  • 4

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, March 16, 2018 5:50:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    good but not great, worth a watch but clearly not deserving of a best picture Oscar. Not an original movie plot to begin with, coupled with the fact that a lot of the movie is just pieces of recycled elements from his previous works kind of takes away from the overall affect it might have had. Like Pan's Labyrinth the villain is over-the-top evil for no apparent reason, and as usual Del Toro throws in some unnecessary gore/violence/sex scenes that I know are meant to make you cringe but mostly just take you out of the movie for being not really believable

  • 3

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, March 15, 2018 11:40:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I left this movie after 40 minutes. Totally creeped me out. Do not like science fiction or violence. Figured it had to be good as it won Best Picture. Wrong. Best Picture last year sucked too. Should have followed my instincts.

  • 4

    The Shape of Water

    Tuesday, March 13, 2018 7:02:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Over my head I guess. Creature of the Black Lagoon meets Mary Poppins. Jenkins was OK I guess & Spencer the same, otherwise?. 2 stars might have been to generous.

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Tuesday, March 13, 2018 6:58:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie sucked. It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Holly Weird at its best! YUK

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, March 12, 2018 3:58:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This one is a winner! Different, quirky, funny, sad, great endng! This is my favorite of the year! Bloody good old chaps!

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 11:17:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Another good production from Del Toro.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 11:16:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie have the enchanted touch of the older movies. Some how the story is little twisted but I am glad the movie got some Oscars.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, March 11, 2018 11:12:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well deserved the Oscars.