Greater Ottawa Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.67 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:10:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Shameful, absolutely shameful. I have never felt compelled to leave a movie review, much less on a Star Wars movie. I pains me to do this but Rian Johnson and Disney must be held accountable for this sick, insulting, offensive abomination. I award you no points and may God have mercy on your soul.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:10:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Last Jedi singlehandedly ruined the original Star Wars trilogy with its disservice toward the characters, story/lore, etc. of the original trilogy. The Last Jedi is trash.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:08:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very disappointing. Bad writing, poor character development and misrepresentation of characters. Awful continuity with its predecessor. Not a lot to look forward to in episode IX.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:06:22 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    To say this movie was a disappointment is a great understatement. My disappointment is not based on any "betrayal" of what Star Wars is or is "supposed to be"; any real story teller and artist ought to be able to explore their imagination and give a new interpretation or spin on things. My disappointment is in the fact that this film is quite simply a poorly made film. It lacks almost any sense of narrative integrity- cause and effect relationships are overlooked in favor of action sequences, that while visually beautiful, have absolutely no sense of gravitas. Basic concepts such as the connection of motivation and action have no place in this film. In the end it feels like only so much fluff and dazzle. I can accept one, two or even three jumps in logic or plot holes, but this film takes it to a new level. The narrative collapses repeatedly. To find myself not caring at all about what happens to characters that I have loved since childhood only underlines the truly monumental lack of care and haphazard way this film was made. I cannot imagine a great film maker such as Spielberg or even Peter Jackson making something as poorly constructed as The Last Jedi. I am sad to say I won't be watching another film directed by Johnson. I am baffled by the critics who have praised his work- and can only think that they only hold this film to the standards that they would hold a commercial or a shoddily written Saturday morning cartoon. To me the worst Star Wars film ever made and enough to evaporate any interest in following the franchise any further. It feels like a great loss- but it's Disney's right to do whatever they want. I just don't have to follow.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:05:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Absolutely terrible. completely ruined everything interesting from the previous movie, while also ruining the character of Luke, the Jedi legacy, and anything related to the force. This movie should never have been made.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:05:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I have been a Star Wars fan most of my life and I never thought a could dislike anything Star Wars related, I even really enjoyed the prequels. But this movie destroyed everything that was good about Star Wars.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:03:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Gorgeous visuals, but truly atrocious storytelling!! Such wasted potential!

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:03:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Committed character assassination, redefined the force and had mostly useless characters. They might say it's new and modern but it isn't. It is horrible what they have done to this amazing 40 year old epic journey.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:01:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Horrible experience. The "Leia Superman" scene killed it once and for all.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:00:52 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I fundamentally disagree with every choice you have made for Luke. He is not my Skywalker. He is more like Jake Skywalker it disgusts me that Disney has forced Mark Hamill to apologize. I dont know if they are threatening his life or got some dirt on him but this disgusting trash just continues to grow every day. They have ruined Star Wars from destroying the original source material to treating Luke as a joke to their bland generic one dimensional social justice mary sues to killing off any hype and characters you care about. The more the SJW flood review sites with fake praise desperate to defend their unholy anti christ of a film, the more i despise this film and how Disney keeps feeding the SJW. Plus shoving all the political messages from the greediest most evil company in the world is laughable. Pathetic for them to lecture on corproations and problems with capitalist countries, when they are a slave company built off of every evil tactic known. This movie is an abomination and i hate that the SJW are so damn determined to give this movie more and more money. They want revenge for Social Justice Ghostbusters failing and now they are flooding every review site pouring as much of their money and time into this piece of garbage. There will never be peace or cooperation with these social justice lunatics. They killed off Ghostbusters, Star Trek, and now they will have succeeded in killing off Star Wars.