Greater Ottawa Movies

Tomb Raider

Tomb Raider

Tomb Raider

Score: 8.2 / 10

Release Date: March 16, 2018
Director: Roar Uthaug
Producer: Graham King
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Alicia Vikander, Dominic West, Walton Goggins, Daniel Wu, Kristin Scott Thomas, Derek Jacobi
Rating: PG
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 118 minutes

Write a Review


Tomb Raider movie reviews

  • 10

    Tomb Raider

    Thursday, April 19, 2018 9:30:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent! Cast and crew are very effective, and the verisimilitude of the story is entrancing. Dislikes draw to the unbiological speed of the 'infection symptoms', and a few too many boulders rolling down mountains on a small island off of Japan. But the producers produced a winner here.

  • 9

    Tomb Raider

    Thursday, April 19, 2018 9:52:54 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Alicia is great as Lara Croft! For fans of the series, and even video games in general, Tomb Raider, led by the the energetic if slightly mopey Lara Croft (Alicia Vikander), borrows heavily from the rebooted video games by Square Enix, focusing on a young, pre-archaeologist relic hunter who is a little cocksure about her life, unsure of the future, but determined to meet it straight on.Instead of focusing on the professional skills of a master fighter and acrobat, as did the original Angelina Jolie-led Tomb Raider duology, the movie spends quite some time establishing Lara's obvious flaws. Her diminutive size means she is no good in a straight-up brawl, while she openly makes mistakes that can cost her her life.

  • 10

    Tomb Raider

    Thursday, April 12, 2018 4:25:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I liked this Lara Croft much better than the one in the last tomb raider movie that I saw about 20 years ago (?). Alicia Vikander is physically fit so we audience are convinced that she is a real Lara Croft not like Angelina Jolie who was a joke.

  • 9

    Tomb Raider

    Thursday, April 12, 2018 4:20:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    In spite of a rather slow going movie, the main character-the leading lady actor, Alicia- manages to keep my interest there. Wish there is a bit more story and more twists and turns. Nevertheless, it is a good movie.

  • 8

    Tomb Raider

    Monday, April 9, 2018 8:23:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Strong and well driven. I think this edition of the films stuck very close to the imagery and themes set in the 2013 game reboot. Alicia plays Lara Croft in a way that brings ingenuity and skill to the role like we have not seen before. I think that a lot of people who don't play games are confused with the storyline, not understanding that this is a prequel to the Angelina role and version of the character. I think that the storyline does have a "falling off" point to where the film takes liberties to cut time and also combine the plot of two games (shadow of the tomb raider) and (tomb raider) in to one film. The first 45 minutes though felt like a play by play of the 2013 reboot, and despite its "falling off" point - the film is solid and I hope that they follow it up with a sequel.

  • 7

    Tomb Raider

    Friday, April 6, 2018 5:42:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    COOL #LARA CROFT

  • 9

    Tomb Raider

    Friday, April 6, 2018 8:47:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Watched online twice with 65 inch TV...Terrific movie...

  • 10

    Tomb Raider

    Tuesday, April 3, 2018 9:33:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Xcellent flick...

  • 9

    Tomb Raider

    Sunday, April 1, 2018 5:28:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I have seen it 5 times and will be seeing it again and AWESOME

  • 8

    Tomb Raider

    Sunday, April 1, 2018 5:07:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    AWESOME #TOMB RAIDER