Greater Ottawa Movies

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Score: 6.8 / 10

Director: Joe Wright
Producer: Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce, Tim Bevan
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Gary Oldman, Ben Mendelsohn, Lily James, John Hurt, Kristin Scott Thomas, Stephen Dillane
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 125 minutes

Write a Review


Darkest Hour movie reviews

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Friday, December 29, 2017 1:17:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was very impressed. We need more movies like this.

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Friday, December 29, 2017 11:24:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved it! Gary Oldman is superb and the movie is great. I'm sure there are historical inaccuracies, but as a film goes it was fantastic!!! Definitely seeing this again!!

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, December 28, 2017 2:02:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Gary IS Churchill. Very believing

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, December 28, 2017 1:16:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent! We need more movies like this. It is the perfect addition to the Dunkirk film.

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Wednesday, December 27, 2017 3:08:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great drama

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Wednesday, December 27, 2017 12:40:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Being a Churchill aficionado since the early 90's, I can say that this docu-drama is as factually correct as any that I have seen. This film presents the political wranglings of the day that he had to overcome before he could proceed in prosecuting the war. Little known facts; Churchill had a lisp (all his life) that blessed him with his signature speaking style! Also, he suffered (periodically) with deep depression which was also presented in the movie. If you are interested in WWII history watch on NETFLIX "Walking in Destiny" as together these give a good-n-deep understanding of the greatest man of the twentieth century.

  • 1

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, December 26, 2017 11:12:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    As a former history teacher, I have to give it an F. As a historical fiction movie, it's at least 75% fiction. The idea that Churchill wavered and seemed to have considered a treaty with Hitler and that he jotted down the ideas for his greatest speech on a subway trip to Parliament (one which he never took) are ridiculous. Gary Oldman did a great job portraying a bumbling professor! I had to give the movie one star, because I wasn't given to option of going lower.

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Monday, December 25, 2017 12:11:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If one knows anything about WW 2, then you will appreciate how effective Winston was in turning the tide. He inspired his island nation. Certainly could not have done without America's help which came later. The month of May in 1940 was hell for Western Europe. Gary Oldman is truly masterful. An Oscar nod, perhaps.

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Saturday, December 23, 2017 9:40:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Both my husband and I loved this movie - Gary Oldman is incredible!! We feel the historical accuracy was very good - we’re going to see it again!!

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Saturday, December 23, 2017 8:51:46 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    An emotional roller-coaster of a film that takes you through the rise of Churchill and the political background with Neville Chamberlain and Lord Halifax trying to promote a peace treaty with Hitler. A very good feel of the period and brilliant acting from Gary Oldman. Matches perfectly with the movie 'Dunkirk'.