Greater Ottawa Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.16 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 4, 2017 9:34:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Way too much drama and hollywood stuff and not enough factual information. Why turn a perfectly good historic event into something distorted with sissy drama. The story of Dunkirk is interesting enough to portray. I was looking for more of a documentary type movie.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 4, 2017 8:02:19 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I thought it was an excellent film. It's not so much the story of the event (i.e. a documentary), but the experience of the evacuation from several individual perspectives. I too am a history buff but still enjoyed the film

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, August 3, 2017 10:45:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well if your friend is a history buff tell him to rebuff. This movie was off da hook

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, August 3, 2017 2:22:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I think "Dunkirk " was more of a documentary, than a movie.I was waiting for something, anything, but it just wasn't there.Not in the same class as " Saving Private Ryan ".I am a history buff, and I was disappointed.

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, August 3, 2017 11:47:48 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This was probably the worst movie I have seen. I didn't know anything about Dunkirk before I went and knew less when I left the movie. There is very little dialect and you were wondering the whole time what was going on. Nobody had names either except the one civilian boat. There was just so much bad about this movie. The purpose of a history film is to educate about the event, not this one. I still cannot figure out why I sat through it all. I actually told a couple people to see it just because then they would see how bad it was. The friend I was with is a history buff and felt the same way I did and was actually probably more disappointed than myself.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, August 3, 2017 10:24:55 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A reminder of past glory for older viewers, and a good history lesson for the young. Not to be missed.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, August 2, 2017 4:37:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Jaw dropping. But this is a war film for people who understand history. Dunkirk is not D-Day.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, August 2, 2017 2:18:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    only a so so movie

  • 3

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, August 2, 2017 1:53:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Huge disappointment - disjointed scenes which fell short of sharing true accounts of heroism, sacrifice, and the brutality of the war. To make it more frustrating was the mix of either inaudible dialogue between the actors or the over-the-top musical score during many scenes. As many people have stated, this movie does not hold a candle to Saving Private Ryan.

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, August 1, 2017 11:27:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Whether it mirrored history accurately or not its just a flick for entertaining people. That being I found it OK. Story a little corny and without the "Jaws" sound track would have been poor. Far from the best war movie ever, save that for Private Ryan. The reality of War is that war is hell, gore and death and that needs to be be on the screen to remind us all or surely we'll find ourselves back on the beaches again.