Greater Ottawa Movies

Hereditary

Hereditary

Hereditary

Score: 6.65 / 10

Release Date: June 08, 2018
Director: Ari Aster
Producer: Buddy Patrick, Kevin Frakes, Lars Knudsen
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Toni Collette, Alex Wolff, Milly Shapiro, Ann Dowd, Gabriel Byrne
Genre: Horror
Running Time: 126 minutes

Write a Review


Hereditary movie reviews

  • 9

    Hereditary

    Sunday, September 30, 2018 9:19:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I haven't been this scared watching a movie since I saw The Ring as a teenager, after all those weird teaser ads on TV. This movie actually makes you feel the terror that the characters feel. It hurt my feelings.

  • 9

    Hereditary

    Tuesday, September 18, 2018 8:02:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Scary af ! ! ! !!

  • 9

    Hereditary

    Tuesday, September 18, 2018 7:35:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Freaky AF

  • 8

    Hereditary

    Monday, September 10, 2018 11:02:44 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Now this is how you do horror. Toni Collette brings it in this terror/drama/sci-fi with unexpected twists. At just over 2 hours, this movie is a commitment. But it's so worth it with scenes that made my skin crawl with anticipated fear! The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because of the director's decision to use long, wide camera still shots that make it feel like the audience isn't in on everything there is to see. Otherwise, people will be talking about this film for quite some time.

  • 9

    Hereditary

    Monday, September 10, 2018 10:30:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fantastic in every way. The music is glorious, the performances of the entire cast are stellar, and it's scary and shocking as hell. If I am perfectly honest, this might just be the best horror movie I have ever seen.

  • 9

    Hereditary

    Monday, September 10, 2018 9:32:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Horror movies don't get made like this anymore. This is a film that takes its sweet time with the buildup, in order to deliver a powerful climax. Whereas most horror films nowadays rely on jump scares to thrill the audience, providing instant tension releases, this film grabs you and never lets go the entire time. I can't wait to see what this director brings in the future. scariest film I've seen in a decade, but watch it right - complete darkness, big screen, speakers up!

  • 2

    Hereditary

    Sunday, September 9, 2018 9:20:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the worst films ever! Extremely disappointed in it. Acting was embarrassing, no storyline and it left me annoyed at the end. I love "horror" films and give cheesy ones a try, but this was just awful in every aspect of the word!

  • 8

    Hereditary

    Saturday, August 25, 2018 1:06:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Really good movie, If your into jump scares this movie is not for you, this is more like the babadook. a lot of people complain about the ending but I thought it was perfect.

  • 10

    Hereditary

    Saturday, August 25, 2018 11:27:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's obvious that the reason that in 2018, there's rarely any good horror movies anymore, because the people that keep making these horrible films are the same people that are giving THIS movie a bad review. This movie was one of the best horror films I've ever seen!!! It's not a big budget, cheap scare, slasher film. It's a supernatural, tense, chilling, well acted, powerful horror movie. The soundtrack builds tension. Every shot is well planned, and the movie plays out in three different acts, so just as you feel like you'[re catching your breath, it takes you deeper into the story. The ending had me watching the entire credits just because I was riveted to my seat, watching, thinking, feeling uneasy at what I'd just seen. Sorry to the haters, but this movie was amazing.

  • 7

    Hereditary

    Saturday, August 25, 2018 11:14:37 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The references are really interesting in this film. I see, for example, a scene from The Exorcist 3 that some have found stupid, but it is worth to watch it with some absolutely terrifying scenes and as disturbing as when the old lady in the retirement home crawl on the ceiling or when the nurse is killed in the hospital. Less inspired by Friedkin, I think the director is mostly inspired by the work of William Peter Blatty (Bill Friedkin should recognize it if he left his ego on the side for a few moments, Blatty had great ideas for staging). Toni Collette is absolutely great and should receive an Oscar for her performance.