Greater Ottawa Movies

Hotel Mumbai

Hotel Mumbai

Score: 7.26 / 10

Director: Anthony Maras
Producer: Andrew Ogilvie, Basil Iwanyk, Gary Hamilton, Joe Thomas, Julie Ryan, Mike Gabrawy
Studio: VVS Films
Starring: Dev Patel, Armie Hammer, Nazanin Boniadi, Anupam Kher, Jason Isaacs
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 125 minutes

Write a Review


Hotel Mumbai movie reviews

  • 5

    Hotel Mumbai

    Monday, April 1, 2019 5:36:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is not for the faint hearted. It is a horrific true story of terrorism. Well acted, well done.

  • 10

    Hotel Mumbai

    Monday, April 1, 2019 5:04:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie from start to finish. The acting was great from all the cast. The movie was very gripping from start to end. I would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys a good action movie.

  • 2

    Hotel Mumbai

    Monday, April 1, 2019 4:24:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie trailer is deceiving. My boys and I were disappointed and left before the movie ended.

  • 10

    Hotel Mumbai

    Monday, April 1, 2019 4:15:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well-documented, accurate portrayal of events that took place. Excellent acting by all. It was not easy to watch this movie and see numerous innocent people shot and killed for no good reason at all. This is certainly no fiction. The dedication and bravery of the hotel staff in risking their own lives in protection of guests is highly commendable and factual. There is no need to blame religion for atrocities of this type; the perpetrators have no humanity and no real affiliation to any legitimate "cause". They assume a sense of unlimited power when such horrendous, cruel acts are committed under their command. Arabic is not the language the shooters used in communications with their handler, just a local dialect.

  • 2

    Hotel Mumbai

    Monday, April 1, 2019 3:38:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I have Muslim friends. I also met Muslims in countries where they are the minority and in other countries where Muslims are the majority yet, Iíve seen nothing from them except kindness, hospitality and love for life for themselves, their families and others. Reading some reviews like that of this person describing Islam as a death cult, I wonder if he/she has interacted with a Muslim or even read the Quran before. I have read the Quran myself and by your description I can tell your knowledge about Islam is distorted. That is the danger a movie like this presents. People with limited understanding of the real world learning about others through movies or TV.

  • 9

    Hotel Mumbai

    Monday, April 1, 2019 2:08:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Only reason this movie isn't rated at 5 stars is that some people refuse to accept the truth. Islam is a death cult- not a "religion of peace". I'm sorry if it's hard for you to watch 10 Muslims slaughter over 400 Hindus and Christians but it's a factual account of what happened. Take YOUR agenda elsewhere.

  • 9

    Hotel Mumbai

    Monday, April 1, 2019 1:43:13 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well directed, well acted - certainly made it very real. Still can't fathom why terrorists kill innocents.

  • 10

    Hotel Mumbai

    Monday, April 1, 2019 12:28:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Two hours passed quickly as this gripping re-telling of the terrorist attack on Mumbai unfolded on the screen. The story is not fiction; rather, it is a portrayal of the religion-driven and senseless slaughter of scores of innocent civilians in Mumbai in 2008. Yes, it is violent, but so is terrorism. This is truly one of the best films of the past year with superb performances by such leads as Dev Patel, portraying a server in the Taj Palace Hotel's dining room who, like other hotel staff, made protection of hotel guests his first priority while risking his own life. Of course, all but one of the characters are composites of the many staff and guests who had the misfortune to be at the hotel at the time of the attack. The exception is the character of the head chef of the hotel's famous dining room. We should all show such courage and grace in the midst of such adversity. Despite the reviews to the contrary, this is not a racist film, any more than was "Schindler's List" or "The Colour Purple," both of which captured the racism perpetrated in the first film upon the Jewish people and in the second upon African Americans in the southern States. This is not fiction; this simply depicts an historical truth, and is well worth seeing at least once if not twice. Of how many movies can one say the same?

  • 9

    Hotel Mumbai

    Sunday, March 31, 2019 9:51:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    while liberals cry about this and that and life isn't 'fair', this is a story about the WAY THE WORLD REALLY IS. you don't want to watch the way the world really is? there's always sesame street and barney the dinosaur for you. grow up already.

  • 1

    Hotel Mumbai

    Sunday, March 31, 2019 7:56:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    this is not entertainment. I come to a movie to be entertained. a message in a movie can add to the experience, but walking out an hour into the movie I still found no value to it at all. if this topic interests you, I would encourage you to seek it elsewhere.