Greater Ottawa Movies

Midway

Midway

Score: 7.98 / 10

Release Date: February 18, 2020
Director: Roland Emmerich
Producer: Harald Kloser
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Ed Skrein, Patrick Wilson, Luke Evans, Aaron Eckhart, Nick Jonas, Etsushi Toyokawa, Tadanobu Asano, Luke Kleintank, Jun Kunimura, Darren Criss, Keean Johnson, Alexander Ludwig, Mandy Moore, Dennis Quaid, Woody Harrelson
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 138 minutes

Write a Review


Midway movie reviews

  • 10

    Midway

    Thursday, December 5, 2019 2:25:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the best war docudramas' ever made. Riveting aerial combat sequences ,CG & all. You needed the brief intimate/personal stories. the selflessness/strength of the military wives; the strategies, conversations & comments from the Japanese perspective & their human side, (as cruel as they were). Not to mention their seriously disciplined military. The brilliant code breakers , & officers making the tough decisions, & last but not least; the aviators who had the courage to fly thru over whelming fire power. The American planes shot out of the sky & dropping into the ocean was not overly done, we did lose entire squadrons (a squadron is up to 24 planes) & some where only a few planes returned. Movie time constraints is what explains some sequences. Do you think those air battles were really only 2 minutes long? The sound track played a significant role in the drama & power of the movie. The tribute to both Japan & U.S. Navy personal & some of the exceptional men was a great conclusion to the movie. The DVD release will be a great addition to my WW2 documentary collection. rh

  • 9

    Midway

    Wednesday, December 4, 2019 12:38:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    MUST SEE! Well done !!!!

  • 10

    Midway

    Tuesday, December 3, 2019 5:44:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well put together movie.

  • 10

    Midway

    Monday, December 2, 2019 11:02:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best movie I have seen in a very long time

  • 5

    Midway

    Saturday, November 30, 2019 5:09:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    8 out of 10 good film enjoy it very much would see it again....dont listen to the people giving it negative reviews, nik picking stupid crap, go see it for your self and dont let the few that didn't like it make you're own decision, their looking for perfection in the Oscar winning movie at the Academy Awards

  • 9

    Midway

    Saturday, November 30, 2019 2:57:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very realistic, felt as though I was there with them!

  • 10

    Midway

    Saturday, November 30, 2019 10:16:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    the movie was good,, this version was different than the original in the 70s. I missed the speakers under the seats

  • 10

    Midway

    Friday, November 29, 2019 9:08:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great Historical Movie considering Hollywood's past history of messing with history to sell at the box office. Would have liked to see more of The Doolittle Raiders story as it related to the battle of Midway.

  • 10

    Midway

    Thursday, November 28, 2019 9:34:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great Historical Movie. I 'll add my historical knowledge of WW2 also. It turns out few people know why P.H. was bombed. The movie gave very briefly a glimpse of why, when The Japanese told the Americans not to back them into a corner, The details: Roosevelt told Japan if they didn't stop there incursion & the slaughter of the Chinese (we're talking massive rape, bayonet practice on civilians & many other atrocities.) we would halt oil shipments to Japan. Japan didn't stop. America was friends with the Dutch & Japan had there sights on the oil fields in the Dutch East Indies. (as we were no longer their supplier). Japan feared the Pacific Fleet would come to the aid of the Dutch , hence destroy the Pacific Fleet at P.H. Yamamoto studied at Harvard & had great insight into America industrial power. This is why his famous quote(from diary) "we have awaken a sleeping giant & filled him with terrible resolve came to be . My question always was; What if the Carriers were at P.H at the time of the attack & destroyed? I hope to see the movie again. rh

  • 10

    Midway

    Thursday, November 28, 2019 11:14:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    LOVED LOVED THIS MOVIE!!