Greater Ottawa Movies

Midway

Midway

Score: 7.98 / 10

Release Date: February 18, 2020
Director: Roland Emmerich
Producer: Harald Kloser
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Ed Skrein, Patrick Wilson, Luke Evans, Aaron Eckhart, Nick Jonas, Etsushi Toyokawa, Tadanobu Asano, Luke Kleintank, Jun Kunimura, Darren Criss, Keean Johnson, Alexander Ludwig, Mandy Moore, Dennis Quaid, Woody Harrelson
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 138 minutes

Write a Review


Midway movie reviews

  • 10

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 27, 2019 6:57:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Really enjoined the info on their later lives & honors

  • 9

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 27, 2019 2:46:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As a military historian, I was afraid to go see this movie. Was expecting transgenders,, gay pilots, women heroes, and the like, as this is all we see from Hollywood lately. Only a snowflake would hate this movie, but it was absolutely outstanding, and spot on with history. I sat with my wife, and told her what would happen next, and Boom!, there it was. Most exceptional, Mr Emmerich.

  • 10

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 27, 2019 1:35:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    First, I am a retired Mustang Naval Aviation Officer, so my opinions are based on 24 years of practical experience and historical knowledge. 1. History - spot on. 2. Personal relationships - sorry, but those play an important role in real sailors & aviators lives as they are rarely home like their Zoomie counterparts; so vital to this story. 3. Technically - deadly accurate to the chemical O2 converter to the dive bombing and weapons. 4. I find some of the reviewers don't know squat about this nation's history. Even one sad citizen doesn't know about the Cold War that was subsequent to WW II until Mr. Reagan crushed the USSR Soviet socialists. That explains why so many of the younger generations think socialism will fix their personal shortfalls and problems. Our teachers and schools and universities are failures in producing Americans. 5. Accuracy - not the past Hollywood cosmetics, but raw factual movie. If the actors and their characters seem lackluster, just take a hard look of yourself. When I was out there, I was bigger than life; but after retiring into the plush and less stressful civilian world, I and my personality just faded into the background. If you want phony heroes, watch the last Rambo movie. But if you want to see normal people of that era, this movie kept their normal personalities down to the level that all of us average citizens are at. 6. Now for the real deal in a review - I froze and rarely breathed during the attacks on the carriers, esp. the dive bombing runs. Folks - that is as real as any move has made it. One doesn't grit your teeth or flash that silly Tojo-smile when firing a machine gun in a plane (Hollywood again); but in an attack from a high altitude using those aircraft and weapons, this movie got it down pat. I doubt that most of the reviewers here are as fit as I was back then to withstand the G-forces with a suit or even be able to breathe in such a dive. What guts, but what stamina. Finally got the war-at-s

  • 9

    Midway

    Tuesday, November 26, 2019 4:24:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Liked, historical accuracy. Disliked, many sidelights unimportant for the movie.

  • 10

    Midway

    Monday, November 25, 2019 7:37:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I enjoyed this movie from start to end. Who are these noses-in-the-air snobs ( who rated this movie less than 4 stars ) who cannot appreciate history, great special effects, and a tribute to the bravery of our military? Go see it, and be thankful.

  • 10

    Midway

    Monday, November 25, 2019 4:10:57 PM | (age group: 50 or over.) | M

    Acting was superb! Dennis Quaid, Nick Jonas top of the line. Great to have both perspectives from American and from Japanese sides. Loved the movie.

  • 9

    Midway

    Sunday, November 24, 2019 12:32:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Was very Awesome!!!! Never a dull moment, very interesting and historical from what had gone on.

  • 9

    Midway

    Saturday, November 23, 2019 2:58:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Powerful, brilliant war movie with thrilling action sequences that put the audience right in the battle scenario. Outstanding script, acting, directing, cinematography, and editing; have seen it twice; going again next week. Truly a masterpiece on the level of Black Hawk Down. Plus it is an excellent date movie and truly patriotic, pro-military, heroic cinema experience. Highly recommend this movie to those who enjoy tightly constructed, action packed war movies that never let up on the action, once it kicks into full throttle. Superb crescendo and denouement. I am buying the movie poster when it comes out.

  • 1

    Midway

    Friday, November 22, 2019 10:09:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    "It's on the water." "What's on the water?" "Smoke." And what's a "cold war vet" anyway?

  • 8

    Midway

    Friday, November 22, 2019 4:59:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As a cold war vet, I appreciated the emphasis on the fact that the Americans under-estimated the intentions of the Japanese government that they were totally surprised by the attack at Pearle Harbor. The cynics among the audiences will always find some fault in anything. However, the details in the re-creation of the attack on P.H are very impressive. . No-0ne or movie is perfect, but I liked the film enough to go and see it a second time.