Greater Ottawa Movies

Midway

Midway

Score: 7.98 / 10

Release Date: February 18, 2020
Director: Roland Emmerich
Producer: Harald Kloser
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Ed Skrein, Patrick Wilson, Luke Evans, Aaron Eckhart, Nick Jonas, Etsushi Toyokawa, Tadanobu Asano, Luke Kleintank, Jun Kunimura, Darren Criss, Keean Johnson, Alexander Ludwig, Mandy Moore, Dennis Quaid, Woody Harrelson
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 138 minutes

Write a Review


Midway movie reviews

  • 9

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 13, 2019 9:40:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    What's not to like was GREAT !!!

  • 3

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 13, 2019 9:16:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I felt that it was vastly over-rated. It was very much like an action video game.

  • 9

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 13, 2019 5:12:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie. Yes a few details were not fully correct, such as the Japanese carrier decks were jammed with aircraft ready to take off but could not because US attacking planes forced the carriers into evasive action. But so what. Some people don't like to see that America at that time was fighting mad and the war produced men who loved their country and gave their lives for our freedom. A lot of information was crammed into this movie. But its purpose was to honor American fighting men. I am a Viet Nam Vet. The news media villafied us to the point that we were spit at at the airports across America. I for one applaud the movie makers for reminding America that our fighting men give up a lot to defend our freedom. So take your liberal attitude and shove it. I loved this flick.

  • 10

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 13, 2019 2:01:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    They are and will always be The Greatest Generation. Their bravery is indisputable. Enjoyed the history from both American and Japanese perspective. Was overcome with pride for our service men, women and their families.

  • 8

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 13, 2019 11:37:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    GOOD MOVIE. Real piece of history and how young men fought to protect this great land. Makes you appreciate your country and freedom even more. America will always be number one.

  • 2

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 13, 2019 10:31:20 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Another garbage film from Emmerich, one of the worst Hollywood hacks.

  • 9

    Midway

    Wednesday, November 13, 2019 12:28:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie. We need movies like this to keep us informed and educated. The young men with little training and no experience facing such a ghastly war makes survival even more incredible. Very impressive how quickly the planes came to a halt once they landed on the carrier. Interesting too the decoders. So much more to the war that we know nothing about. A great movie, well done.

  • 7

    Midway

    Tuesday, November 12, 2019 12:14:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Much better than the terrible trailer advertising it. The only downside to the film is most of the film is not about Midway itself but the first 7 months of the war which means a kind of rush job at the end of the film to cover the actual battle while skipping through large sections of the battle. Worth seeing despite these flaws.

  • 7

    Midway

    Sunday, November 10, 2019 10:37:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Being familiar with the pacific WW 2 history , I was able to understand the events portrayed in the lead up to the Battle of Midway . But someone not as familiar with the events may have a hard time following along , as the film ,I thought didn't go into much detail in important events such as the Dolittle raid . They glanced over it ,but didn't emphasize how unprecedented it was to launch bombers from an aircraft carrier . The air battle scenes I thought were awesome but as others have stated made up too small a part of the film . Seeing that it was a film about Midway ,it should have dedicated more of the film to the actual battle . Just my opinion .

  • 10

    Midway

    Sunday, November 10, 2019 10:00:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    We really enjoyed the movie. I was somewhat concerned that this might be a B movie or a ridiculous caricature of the event like the Ben Affleck Pearl Harbour was. But I was pleasantly surprised and Midway turned out to be well written with good pacing and character development. They didn't give it the R rating gory treatment such as so many war movies like Private Ryan, and that was a good call in my book. I read a few of the previous reviews and am somewhat puzzled at the CGI criticism. The planes looked gritty and authentic to me, and the dive bombing was thrilling. The story line only gave about 30+ minutes to the actual battle because this was the climax of the story. The background, Pearl Harbour attack and other historic events needed to be told as the average young movie goer has little idea of the history, or why Midway happened. During this time, the Japanese were villains, by the way. They tortured at will and the Pearl Harbour attack was done without a declaration of war. They were dark days, and we can be thankful today that Germany and Japan have become such great nations.