Greater Ottawa Movies

Pan's Labyrinth

Pan's Labyrinth

Pan's Labyrinth

Score: 5.17 / 10

Release Date: December 25, 2006
Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Alfonso Cuarón, Álvaro Augustin, Bertha Navarro, Frida Torresblanco
Studio: Odeon Films
Starring: Sergi López, Maribel Verdú, Ivana Baquero, Doug Jones, Ariadna Gil
Rating: 14A
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 112 minutes

Write a Review


Pan's Labyrinth movie reviews

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Tuesday, February 13, 2007 5:39:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Typical del Toro film.I was not disappointed. Great visuals but I wish I could have seen more of the Labyrinth. Don`y mind sub-titles as long as the movie is good, which it was.

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Tuesday, February 13, 2007 12:23:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As once being a child I kind of identified myself with little Ofelia, should`t we all!? at that age we all fantasys to face with the reality and horrors of life, now being much more older I seek that within myself......but I guess it`s just impossible! but at least through Ofelia I was able to; very good movie I gave 4 stars!

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Tuesday, February 13, 2007 8:14:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie dredged up memories of Hemingway`s “For Whom the Bell Tolls” with had a liberal dose of dark, foreboding fantasy thrown in; the result is nothing short of spectacular. The acting was wonderful; the cinematography was superbly done. The concern by many, about the subtitles, is unfounded; in fact, I thought the subtitles added to the magical effect of this movie. Be forewarned, this movie is not for the faint of heart, and is definitely not for small children. 5 Stars. R.A.N.

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Monday, February 12, 2007 11:16:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    JUSt AMAZING..i personaly am not spanish...so yes, i did read the subtitles. However the movie was made in such a way that they get a maximum meaning of a situation in the lowest amount of words. So the visuals were more telling the words. Just Amazing, the moood gets set perfectly in the beginning. The ending is no less then perfect. Thank you for making such a story-rich movie.

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Monday, February 12, 2007 4:35:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    best of the year for sure, and the fact that it stayed true to it`s language made it even better! If you don`t like the subtitles go see Norbit...

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Monday, February 12, 2007 3:05:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent juxtaposition of cruelty and kindness, dark and light, reality and fantasy. However, this juxtaposition extends to the plot as well, which, at first, can`t decide if it is a historical drama or a fantasy trip as the storyline develops. Eventualy, thought, one plot line wins over the movie and as it reaches it`s climax the viewer is left feeling tantalized but laments not having been given more.

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Monday, February 12, 2007 9:17:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Absolutely the best film I have seen in ages. It is refreshing to see a movie that actually portrays the darkness of fantasy and not glitter it up or gloss it over with unrealistic endings (Let`s leave that to Disney). The whole story was moving and beautiful. Engaging to say the least, you feel for the little girl, and you are genuinely kept in suspense about the overall plot of the movie and its ending. Yes it is violent, but most fairy tales are when read in their original text, and besides there is nothing wonderous about war.

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Monday, February 12, 2007 1:32:41 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you used the word Brilliant to describe this movie, thought it was a work of art or walked out of the theatre thinking that this movie was anything other than a B rate flick which used a bad mix of mythology and graphic violence to distract the audience from it`s almost none existant plot. ...if you met any of the above conditions than you should probably stop reading this, `cause your "Life Partner" is waiting for you down at Star Bucks with his Double Latte Capachino Espresso Frapachino.

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Sunday, February 11, 2007 11:58:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was stupid. It was so dissapointing. and NOBODY said it was in subtitles!! What a waste of time!

  • Pan's Labyrinth

    Sunday, February 11, 2007 7:51:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    THIS MOVIE WAS UNREAL. WHEN I WALKED OUT OF THE MOVIE I THOUGHT IT WAS GRUSOM AND SAD BUT WHEN I LIED IN BED THAT NIGHT I REALILIZED HOW BEAUTIFUL IT WAS AND HOW BEAUTY AND THE BREUTALITY ALL ROLED UP INTO ONE MOVIE