Greater Ottawa Movies

The Grizzlies

The Grizzlies

Score: 9.42 / 10

Director: Miranda de Pencier
Producer: Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, Damon D'Oliveira, Miranda de Pencier, Stacey Aglok MacDonald, Zanne Devine
Studio: Mongrel Media
Starring: Ben Schnetzer, Emerald MacDonald, Booboo Stewart, Paul Nutarariaq, Ricky Lee Marty-Pahtaykan, Tantoo Cardinal, Eric Schweig, Will Sasso
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 104 minutes

Write a Review


The Grizzlies movie reviews

  • The Grizzlies

    Saturday, August 24, 2019 10:54:19 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A fantastic film that clearly depicts life in Nunavut. Having lived and taught there it stars up many memories. People from away will think that life portrayed is just a Hollywood version. It is not! This is a true to life depiction and the real life realization of the continuing struggles of the inuit as seen through the eyes of a white teacher trying to help his students.

  • 10

    The Grizzlies

    Wednesday, August 7, 2019 1:00:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A gritty but heartwarming and sometimes hilarious Inuit Canadian perspective of life in small town Nunavut. It's interesting that most of the population of Canada's most northern territory is young. Because the film is all about the youth there. This is not a "white saviour" movie as some critics suggest. Far from it. I watch a lot of First Nations film and television. And Canada rarely - if ever - produces fakery when it comes to their issues. Most people in cities across Canada saw "The Grizzlies" last spring. I had one day and time to see it in my BC Interior town. Terrible to think that Hollywood superhero flicks have such a grip on the Canadian psyche. That they take up so much money and space in our cinemas; at the expense of such a fine film like "The Grizzlies."

  • 10

    The Grizzlies

    Thursday, June 6, 2019 9:06:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fantastic! We need more films like this.

  • 9

    The Grizzlies

    Monday, May 20, 2019 7:58:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie. Iím a 69yr old man and I was teary through many parts of this movie. Very inspirational also.

  • 9

    The Grizzlies

    Monday, May 13, 2019 10:51:03 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Engaging from start to finish. Well done.

  • 10

    The Grizzlies

    Wednesday, May 8, 2019 11:47:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie and a sad reality

  • 10

    The Grizzlies

    Sunday, May 5, 2019 11:30:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent!!! Such an impressive movie. The story is both heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time. The cast is brilliant for a group of mostly unknown actors. Itís laugh-out-loud funny, itís tearfully heart-wrenching, and itís deeply thought-provoking. Itís so beautiful on so many levels. Definitely worth watching again. Emerald and Booboo are simply magnificent. And the dude on the ATV. He cracked me up.

  • 9

    The Grizzlies

    Saturday, May 4, 2019 10:03:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved the realism of this movie. It gives us a glimpse of the harsh reality that Inuit youngsters face every day but also shows the human spirit. The acting by the Inuits and the professional cast is excellent!

  • 9

    The Grizzlies

    Saturday, May 4, 2019 12:56:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    An emotional rollarcoster that showed the raw and real side of what life is like for many up north. 10/10 would recommend to anyone and everyone

  • 10

    The Grizzlies

    Monday, April 29, 2019 7:53:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Incredible movie, every Canadian should see this movie. The acting and story was incredible, those of us in the south get a look at what itís truly like living in the North and growing up in the North.