Greater Ottawa Movies

The Lion King

The Lion King

Score: 7.35 / 10

Release Date: July 19, 2019
Director: Jon Favreau
Producer: Jeffrey Silver, Jon Favreau, Karen Gilchrist
Studio: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
Starring: Donald Glover, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, James Earl Jones, Seth Rogen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfre Woodard, Billy Eichner, John Kani, John Oliver, Florence Kasumba, Eric André, JD McCrary, Shahadi Wright Joseph, Keegan-Michael Key
Rating: PG
Genre: Family
Running Time: 118 minutes

Write a Review


The Lion King movie reviews

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Friday, August 23, 2019 10:10:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Better than the original !!

  • 2

    The Lion King

    Wednesday, August 21, 2019 1:44:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Terribly made copycat movie

  • 5

    The Lion King

    Sunday, August 18, 2019 3:00:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Changed the story and makes the girl the sultan not Aladdin as in the real story

  • 2

    The Lion King

    Saturday, August 17, 2019 4:41:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Trying to copy the original was a big mistake. Should have been made starting at end of original movie and should have been animated like the original.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Friday, August 16, 2019 6:52:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved It! The live action was cute! Almost pretty close to the original cartoon version! And the simba and nala as lion cubs were so adorable! Im going to watch it again when it comes to my town!! Its always good to get a second glance at the movie you like! Love disney! And this was by far an Awesome remake! But just Like aladdin ,scar was not as evil as the scar in the cartoon,so that made it sad! They should have picked a more evil charachter,voice and looks and all! The guys voice did not have it! Jeremy irons was the best for that part in the cartoon! :) and the “ be prepared” song was way to short and changed alot of lyrics! Haha but thats all that made it sad to watch! But other then that Great Job disney!! I will be seeing this soon!! Loved it!!!!!! Shame on any haters against the disney movies! They are trying ! And not trying to impress just you! Great movie! Hoping to see tangled or tarzan as a musical remake!! ????

  • 7

    The Lion King

    Thursday, August 15, 2019 9:32:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really enjoyed this movie. Not as good as the original but still entertaining.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Wednesday, August 14, 2019 4:27:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very realistic, full of action, funny & heartwarming. Don't understand what's not like, those that give it a negative review would do the same with any movie no matter how good it is. Children may prefer the original one better but my wife and I enjoyed it very much.

  • 4

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 7:33:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    To be honest I was bored. It is exactly like the animated film almost shot for shot. Will kids like it? Probably but it is sad the Disney can only come up with a remake of a previous film. What's next? Robin Hood? The rescuers? Perhaps Im being a grump but this did not work for me. Disney brought back James Earl Jones but did they run out of money for Jeremy Irons? Now he had the bad guy voice.

  • 5

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 3:54:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Animated feature still better...

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 2:51:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    We liked everything about this movie! By far one of the best ever.