Greater Ottawa Movies

The Lion King

The Lion King

Score: 7.35 / 10

Release Date: July 19, 2019
Director: Jon Favreau
Producer: Jeffrey Silver, Jon Favreau, Karen Gilchrist
Studio: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
Starring: Donald Glover, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, James Earl Jones, Seth Rogen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfre Woodard, Billy Eichner, John Kani, John Oliver, Florence Kasumba, Eric André, JD McCrary, Shahadi Wright Joseph, Keegan-Michael Key
Rating: PG
Genre: Family
Running Time: 118 minutes

Write a Review


The Lion King movie reviews

  • 1

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 2:04:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lugubrious and artificial. A cynical cash-grab from an evil corporation,

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 1:19:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was a wonderful movie. I might go see it again it is that good. Great for people of all ages.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Monday, August 12, 2019 8:44:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie so much! My 10 year old son, my husband, and myself saw it. My son said that it was one of the best movies he's ever seen. I was worried that it would be a bit slow in the beginning but the momentum picked up pretty quickly, and the movie flew by. This film just has so many meaningful meta-themes and these themes are beautifully and engagingly played out from beginning to end.

  • 8

    The Lion King

    Sunday, August 11, 2019 4:10:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The cartoon was better - I enjoyed the fact that it was so real like but for the most part the cartoon was better

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Sunday, August 11, 2019 1:23:14 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved everything about this movie. Very good movie

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Saturday, August 10, 2019 10:36:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I thought this was beautifully done - the animals are amazing and there was just the right amount of music and humor. There were a couple of places that would be scary for young children. I felt that it followed the plot of the play and the Disney animated version, both of which I have seen. I loved it!

  • 4

    The Lion King

    Saturday, August 10, 2019 12:27:37 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was made pretty badly. Animals are too life like. Which actually makes them very unexpressive. Disney should have thought about that. Some really bad voice acting. Particularly young simba. And scenes don't take the time to let the emotion actually happen, they just sort of rush through them. It was pretty bad.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Friday, August 9, 2019 6:53:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My daughter and I went to see this movie. We used to watch the animated movie a lot when she was little, she is 21 now. We both thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • 2

    The Lion King

    Thursday, August 8, 2019 11:58:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awfully made movie. So bad it would take pages to bring out all the bad areas .

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Thursday, August 8, 2019 7:58:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautiful and Amazing movie! Stop comparing to original! It would be a waste of money if it was exactly 100% to original. Be open minded! It is just another way of telling this amazing story. So many underlining messages about life if you pay attention.. Soundtrack music is awesome as well.