Greater Ottawa Movies

The Lion King

The Lion King

Score: 7.33 / 10

Release Date: July 19, 2019
Director: Jon Favreau
Producer: Jeffrey Silver, Jon Favreau, Karen Gilchrist
Studio: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
Starring: Donald Glover, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, James Earl Jones, Seth Rogen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfre Woodard, Billy Eichner, John Kani, John Oliver, Florence Kasumba, Eric André, JD McCrary, Shahadi Wright Joseph, Keegan-Michael Key
Rating: PG
Genre: Family
Running Time: 118 minutes

Write a Review


The Lion King movie reviews

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Saturday, July 27, 2019 11:39:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The animals and background was wonderful. In order to get the animals like they were, it had to take a long time to photograph them in different positions. It was very uplifting and I really enjoyed it.

  • 5

    The Lion King

    Saturday, July 27, 2019 7:53:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I liked it, but it will never be as good as the original cartoon. More colorful could've been added, however, the small kids at the theater didn't seem to mind. And as most who already seen it, there was the 15 second or so part that should not have been put in the movie. James Earl Jones' voice is just as remarkable as it is in anything he's in.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Saturday, July 27, 2019 5:03:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Better than the original! Granddaughters loved it!

  • 4

    The Lion King

    Saturday, July 27, 2019 4:59:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not as good as the first one which was animated. Was disappointed. The first one you could believe the animals where talking because it was animated. This one seemed unreal because it was made to looked like the real animals were talking which made the movie seem unreal (fake).

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Saturday, July 27, 2019 4:38:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Go watch it now stop reading and watch

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Saturday, July 27, 2019 4:37:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing it such a good movie I really enjoyed it

  • 1

    The Lion King

    Friday, July 26, 2019 11:00:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    No where near as good as rhe original which was animated. This movie should have been animated as well and should have picked up where the original left off instead of trying to copy the same movie.

  • 6

    The Lion King

    Friday, July 26, 2019 5:33:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I did not like it as much as the cartoon one. It needs more color and the lions look emeciated/too skinny. No expression. The hyanas were worse. The cartoon one was so much funny. Disney missed

  • 8

    The Lion King

    Friday, July 26, 2019 9:08:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I liked itů..better than the animated version....which was painfully slow....this one moved along better....and the kids seemed to like it. I personally abhor the political correctness that seeps into every movie today.....and this was no exception....it's propaganda and this is aimed at kids.....just horrid. Disney is the best at this type of film....not 5 star for me, but close.....STOP THE PC STUFF!!

  • 6

    The Lion King

    Thursday, July 25, 2019 4:29:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    8 & 6 year old grandsons liked it. I personally thought the animated version was better..