Greater Ottawa Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.45 / 10

Release Date: December 08, 2017
Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, January 15, 2018 9:22:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This water is stale.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, January 14, 2018 5:25:38 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie! People who give it a bad rating are obviously not remembering that is it a Fantasy film. There was one part I could have lived without but it does play into her world and it's okay. If you like Fantasy and SciFi movies that's that this is. I loved it!

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, January 12, 2018 5:41:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    How could anyone not like this movie? There will always be those who give bad ratings to great movies. Don't be fooled. There are moments I might have edited out. (You will know these spots when you see them!) But when all is said and done... Great work from the great Fantasy Writer/Director Guillermo Del Toro! See it on the Big Screen while you can.

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, January 12, 2018 6:49:22 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Has Del Toro ever made a good movie? The man is twisted and it shows on the screen. Whatever happened to feelgood movies about normal people? Can't have that. It must include alien love, or a psychotic relationship, or some perversion of nature. I go to movies to enjoy an evening, not try and figure out what the point the director was trying to make.

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, January 12, 2018 6:45:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    WTF moments were many at this movie. Left after an hour. The stupid, it burns.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, January 11, 2018 11:54:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This film is remarkable, complex and beautifully realized. Days later I'm still thinking about it. Shot in Toronto, thumbs up to the many Canadians who collaborated on this masterpiece.

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 8:09:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    People can have a good marriage if they put down their snap chat filters and cared about somebody more than themselves. Less validate me selfies and more spending time with your family

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, January 10, 2018 4:55:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    "It takes a lot of lying to have a good marriage" was the first true quote in this great movie. There's nudity, Russian infiltration, domestic violence, animal cruelty (if you count cat eating), gayness, handicaps, minorities, racism, workplace sexual harassment, not wanting to help someone alone and different, and leaving a child on a riverbank because she's not quite what you expected. Everything in everyday America and the world we live in. There's even a MAN who collects cats. Friendship and acceptance are the main themes. Great ending and actors.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Tuesday, January 9, 2018 10:47:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great movie!

  • 4

    The Shape of Water

    Tuesday, January 9, 2018 8:18:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is obviously a script that either appeals to a person, or it doesn't. I love the concept, but really didn't feel the development of characters and their relationships, was enough for me. I usually like quirky, off beat movies. I'm obviously in the minority, and respect other people's love of the movie - it just wasn't for me.