Greater Ottawa Movies

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Score: 5.55 / 10

Release Date: July 26, 2019
Director: Quentin Tarantino
Producer: David Heyman, Quentin Tarantino, Shannon McIntosh
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, Margot Robbie, Dakota Fanning, Al Pacino, Timothy Olyphant, Kurt Russell, Lorenza Izzo, James Marsden, Bruce Dern, Margaret Qualley, Lena Dunham, Damon Herriman, Rumer Willis, Damian Lewis, Emile Hirsch, Tim Roth, Austin Butler, Luke Perry, Zoë Bell, Scoot McNairy, Nicholas Hammond, Brenda Vaccaro
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 161 minutes

Write a Review


Once Upon a Time in Hollywood movie reviews

  • 8

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 8, 2019 2:57:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Some spoilers here, be warned. Young impatient movie fans will be bored, but any male over 40 should like this movie (do women like any Tarantino movie?). Anyone who is not ignorant of the history of the Manson murders, will appreciate the humor and especially the ending. Anyone who is a fan of either Leo or Brad will like their performance, even though they're still a bit under utilized. They both have moments where they shine brightly though, so it's a must watch for you ! Whoever plays Steve McQueen, they were great (as is the backlit shot of him)...it was spooky like seeing a ghost...not sure if CG reanimation was done or not, maybe so. The Playboy mansion party was cool to look at. The character of Sharon Tate is thin here, but she’s also nice to look at…so in a way that is in keeping with the real Sharon Tate. Tarantino is obessed with closeup shots of feet in this movie…Robie’s were the only nice ones…while those of the Manson hippy who hitch hikes with Pitt, are hideous…just like her character. Spooky… The humor about spaghetti westerns is nice and not subtle, and Tarantino both pays some homage while also being satirical. But it's Leo's performance in a scene or two (one with a talented young girl actor) as the "heavy" in this western, that is the highlight of the movie...besides the violent ending. I don’t mean to gush too much on Leo, but in this scene, he as an actor does what a certain female actor of the golden age was said to do by the director who liked her most…”when she turned it on, everything else just stopped”. For that moment, Leo really was the bad guy in part of a spaghetti western he and Tarantino should have made, or perhaps will make? So, the “movie within a movie” aspect comes off well in this movie, but there are scenes and transitions that needlessly drag along.

  • 1

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 8, 2019 2:49:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Waited one year for this movie to appear at the theatre. So disappointed ... no plot ... just plain awful ... violence to the extreme ... could not sleep for hours ... Leo and Brad must be getting desperate for rolls to partake in a movie such as this. Not sure whether to attend at the cinema any longer.

  • 2

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 8, 2019 1:58:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    B-movie at best. Sets and leo are amazing. Story is Dim. Rest of cast are b-grade actors including Pit.

  • 6

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 8, 2019 1:23:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    What a boring movie, until the end. The plot is lost on some great actors.

  • 2

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 8, 2019 11:55:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Another fail from hollyweird's worst director quinteer tarantula. Really a big miss with big aging falling "stars." glad it was paid for by someone else as I would demand my $ back. we actually left got some food and came back and didn't miss a thing but bad acting in a failed plot. see Toy Story instead~

  • 2

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 8, 2019 11:54:40 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    awful! wouldn't recommend if it was free

  • 1

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 8, 2019 7:29:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I trusted the reviews of how great this was and how people who already watched it " can't wait" to see it again. This movie was AWFUL I could not believe how bad it was. It even disrespect Bruce Lee, his own daughter even said so. You know what they say about a fool and his money...they got my money for watching this disgrace.

  • 2

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, August 7, 2019 10:06:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Don't even know what to say. I'm still apologizing to my husband and best friend for dragging them to see this "great" "4 star" movie@*!! There are no words to describe how bad. You sit there and think this is going somewhere and going to have a plot (of any kind) and will get better soon! But NO! It DOESN'T! Trust me. Save you money and better yet, your time.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, August 7, 2019 5:04:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    When my husband saw how long the movie was, he was surprised! We went, and enjoyed every minute. Quentin Tarantino is a sheer genius! After the movie, my husband remarked at how you didn’t notice the time, it was so good!! The story was well done!

  • 10

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, August 7, 2019 4:06:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Quentin Tarantino masterpiece!! Brad Pitt and Leonardo DiCaprio solidify their star power in this movie. With a perfect supporting cast this movie builds dread and apprehension until it's climax that will have you laughing and cheering at the same time!!