Greater Ottawa Movies

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Score: 5.49 / 10

Release Date: July 26, 2019
Director: Quentin Tarantino
Producer: David Heyman, Quentin Tarantino, Shannon McIntosh
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, Margot Robbie, Dakota Fanning, Al Pacino, Timothy Olyphant, Kurt Russell, Lorenza Izzo, James Marsden, Bruce Dern, Margaret Qualley, Lena Dunham, Damon Herriman, Rumer Willis, Damian Lewis, Emile Hirsch, Tim Roth, Austin Butler, Luke Perry, Zoë Bell, Scoot McNairy, Nicholas Hammond, Brenda Vaccaro
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 161 minutes

Write a Review


Once Upon a Time in Hollywood movie reviews

  • 2

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Sunday, August 4, 2019 4:33:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well I can't give a complete review because I left about one third through. The main character was a sniveling egotist who I didn't like. As for the Tate and Manson undercurrent, I guess that knowing the outcome was a bit of a spoiler. Guess it's one of those movies that you either hate or love.

  • 7

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Sunday, August 4, 2019 9:53:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This may be Tarentino's best film. It is not about factual material. It is a good character driven story with the Manson story running in the background. If you are a DiCaprio, Pitt fan, this is a must-see flick. They play well together. Two of the top leading actors in Hollywood and not a sign of anything but good chemistry between them. Both were at their finest performance level. Of course, Tarentino has surprises for us. If you don't remember or are too young to have learned about the horror of the Manson murders, your should brush up on it first. A lot is in the details, much is not in this version.

  • 1

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Sunday, August 4, 2019 6:48:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the worse movies I've ever seen!

  • 8

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Sunday, August 4, 2019 12:54:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    i always wonder what fun nonsense Quentin Tarantino is going to put in his movies. More than anything, there seemed to be an anticipation running through the film until the ending, where there is the unanticipated twist. I won't say what it is so as not to spoil it for those who haven't seen it. Revisionist history, well done (as this film is) , is entertaining

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Saturday, August 3, 2019 11:34:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very good movie. Great acting...Leonardo should win a academy award. I loved the story, action, music... long running time but it didnít seem long to me.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Saturday, August 3, 2019 9:30:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie. Terrific in every aspect of movie making. Great performances by entire cast especially DiCaprio and Pitt. Will see it again soon. As with all Tarantino movies they are about style and dialogue and if your looking for mindless actions with no story line then you won't find it here. This film is beautifully plotted and delivered. I also understand the ending was changed so as to respect the death of the people involved in the Tate Murders and what he did with the ending was awesome. I can't say enough good things about this film.

  • 1

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Saturday, August 3, 2019 9:15:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Poor plot, in almost 3 hours it never got off the ground. Don't waist your time or your money.

  • 5

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Saturday, August 3, 2019 2:21:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Don't expect a great, well developped plot. There is NO plot. Don't expect anything cerebral that will challenge you in understanding what's going on. Very little happens. Don't expect a typical, excellent Tarantino movie. He took a break. But you will find a lot of comical moments and super acting from Brad and Leonardo, as would be expected. There's a lot of very graphic violence, and a copious amount of foul language. Contrary to some other reviewer's comment, Sharon Tate does play a pertinent role in this 'story'. I won't spoil it by saying more; you will notice when you see the movie, close to the end. And stay for the credits; it's worth it for a bonus short. Overall a funny and entertaining movie.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Saturday, August 3, 2019 2:05:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If he wasn't already this one puts the director right up there with the greats, Hitchcock, Scott, Spielberg, Kubrick. Sometimes it takes more than money. If its good it should be long.

  • 5

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Saturday, August 3, 2019 12:56:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Leonardo De Caprio and Brad Pitt saved this movie. If anyone else played their parts it would have been a dud. That being said a good 45 minutes should have been shaved off this movie and it would have been a winner.