Greater Ottawa Movies

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Score: 5.55 / 10

Release Date: July 26, 2019
Director: Quentin Tarantino
Producer: David Heyman, Quentin Tarantino, Shannon McIntosh
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, Margot Robbie, Dakota Fanning, Al Pacino, Timothy Olyphant, Kurt Russell, Lorenza Izzo, James Marsden, Bruce Dern, Margaret Qualley, Lena Dunham, Damon Herriman, Rumer Willis, Damian Lewis, Emile Hirsch, Tim Roth, Austin Butler, Luke Perry, Zoë Bell, Scoot McNairy, Nicholas Hammond, Brenda Vaccaro
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 161 minutes

Write a Review


Once Upon a Time in Hollywood movie reviews

  • 7

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 1, 2019 1:21:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was a date night and I was looking forward to it. I expected more, not much of a story-line or plot. I still enjoyed it. Love the era of 1969, the music, the cars, the clothes. A lot of stars. That's what kept me watching and I wanted to see how it all ended. Some people walked out of the theatre. The movie was not what I expected, but I still would watch it again and recommend it, but when it comes out on DVD.

  • 2

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 1, 2019 11:07:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    My husband and I were excited to see this movie as it was made out to be a movie about the Manson family. However, this was not the case as the movie is about an actor and his stunt double that just happen to live next door to Sharon tate. Sharon tate also has nothing to do with this movie. You see her go and watch her own movies and that's about it. This movie is slow moving and boring. There's like 10 minutes of action right at the end where they TRY to tie in Manson but in all the wrong ways. Was defiently disappointing. Both my husband and I think they just threw Manson and Sharon tates names out in the trailer/description to bring more people in and make money. Even if they hadn't made the movie out to be about Manson, the movie has 0 story/plot line.

  • 2

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 1, 2019 10:24:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was awful. It had no story-line or plot. Five of us went together and agreed that our time was wasted. I'm hearing the same from other friends who saw it so am not sure why the ratings are so high. The guys were handsome. That's about it.

  • 5

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 1, 2019 8:40:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Expected so much more based on the hype and reviews online. The positives: great acting by Pitt and Dicaprio, and the music and retro vibe were well done. However, the storyline was a bit all over the place and it was rather long. Sadly, I just can't give it a high rating.

  • 10

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 1, 2019 12:13:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fantastic movie. Not a lot of killing but it was really good. Still walked out of it when it was over and very satisfied. I would watch it again but I will wait until it comes out.

  • 8

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 11:09:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A+ acting & directing, beautifully shot and depicted the era well. Not his best, don’t go into it expecting Tarantino trademarks like excessive violence and overly philosophical dialogues. Most of Quentin’s movies feel like action first and comedy second, this movie is the opposite. Not what I was expecting but overall a good movie.

  • 10

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:47:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie had a lot of references to shows that I grew up with in the 60s and depicted actors and actresses that I loved such as Steve McQueen and James Stacey. I thought that Tarantino was respectful and he worked hard to bring realistic sets and scenery to the project. The end of the movie was such a surprise it made me weepy.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:29:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    And the attack of triggered SJWs started... Tarantino has never, ever been racist, never treated female characters with disrespect. He just commited the crime of today - he dared to put white guys as leading characters in this movie. The admins should delete troll votes and comments.

  • 10

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:20:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    great movie! It might be a bit confusing if you don't know Manson history or knowledge about 60's culture. It didn't feel too long either. Must watch for Tarantino fans.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:07:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this terrific movie. Brilliant in every phase of film making in my humble opinion. The acting was incredible especially DiCaprio and Pitt and there isn't one boring moment in this film unless you are into mindless superhero action. Will see it again and again.