Greater Ottawa Movies

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Score: 5.55 / 10

Release Date: July 26, 2019
Director: Quentin Tarantino
Producer: David Heyman, Quentin Tarantino, Shannon McIntosh
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, Margot Robbie, Dakota Fanning, Al Pacino, Timothy Olyphant, Kurt Russell, Lorenza Izzo, James Marsden, Bruce Dern, Margaret Qualley, Lena Dunham, Damon Herriman, Rumer Willis, Damian Lewis, Emile Hirsch, Tim Roth, Austin Butler, Luke Perry, Zoë Bell, Scoot McNairy, Nicholas Hammond, Brenda Vaccaro
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 161 minutes

Write a Review


Once Upon a Time in Hollywood movie reviews

  • 8

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 11:09:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A+ acting & directing, beautifully shot and depicted the era well. Not his best, don’t go into it expecting Tarantino trademarks like excessive violence and overly philosophical dialogues. Most of Quentin’s movies feel like action first and comedy second, this movie is the opposite. Not what I was expecting but overall a good movie.

  • 10

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:47:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie had a lot of references to shows that I grew up with in the 60s and depicted actors and actresses that I loved such as Steve McQueen and James Stacey. I thought that Tarantino was respectful and he worked hard to bring realistic sets and scenery to the project. The end of the movie was such a surprise it made me weepy.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:29:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    And the attack of triggered SJWs started... Tarantino has never, ever been racist, never treated female characters with disrespect. He just commited the crime of today - he dared to put white guys as leading characters in this movie. The admins should delete troll votes and comments.

  • 10

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:20:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    great movie! It might be a bit confusing if you don't know Manson history or knowledge about 60's culture. It didn't feel too long either. Must watch for Tarantino fans.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 7:07:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this terrific movie. Brilliant in every phase of film making in my humble opinion. The acting was incredible especially DiCaprio and Pitt and there isn't one boring moment in this film unless you are into mindless superhero action. Will see it again and again.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 6:12:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wow! Intense! May have seemed too long for some, but the director did a fantastic job of developing all of the interesting characters. The story wrapped up with a bizarre, but endlessly entertaining conclusion. Highly recommend this one.

  • 10

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 6:03:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved how they portrayed the hippies of 1969. Pretty clear message about how not to mess with the wrong people. In true Tarantino fashion, karma is a b!tch.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 5:57:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    All of you millennial posters are clueless. Do a bit of research and appreciate just how Tarentino nailed all of the details of this era. The ending was the best I have seen ever. Pitt and Decaprio are an amazing duo. Hope to see them act together again. Looking forward to seeing this one again and again. Easily the best movie of the year and should be nominated for many awards in the new year.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 4:45:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Having been a teenager in the 60's, I loved this movie. It was a real trip ( no pun intended ) back in time. No super heroes flying around at the speed of light, just an honest look at how it was and a brilliant performance by everyone on board. A word of warning, make sure you hit the bathroom just before you see the show...it is a little long, but not at all boring, like some of the reviews said. Great movie and I would see it again. Loved the ending!!!

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 2:28:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved it! A trip down memory lane. Great story, great acting. Not the least bit boring