Greater Ottawa Movies

Black Panther

Black Panther

Score: 5.64 / 10

Release Date: September 04, 2018
Director: Ryan Coogler
Producer: Kevin Feige
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Lupita Nyong'o, Danai Gurira, Martin Freeman, Daniel Kaluuya, Letitia Wright, Winston Duke, Sterling K. Brown, Angela Bassett, Forest Whitaker, Andy Serkis
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


Black Panther movie reviews

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:34:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really wanted this film to be good, but it felt like an overlong, bogged down film unlike anything I had seen before. that said, it had its moments. I wish there was more of them.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:28:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It has no special story, and the plot is totally predictable. Colors and visuals are the only gorgeous parts of this film. I felt cheated after how amazingly Black Panther was shown in Civil War. It has been released in 3D but there are merely a few shots that felt good in 3D. Overall acting is okay; no actor leaves their mark on your mind. And as always, this Marvel movie too suffers with the villain deficiency syndrome.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:20:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Chadwick Boseman performs the best. Lupita Nyong'o, Martin Freeman, Danai Gurira, and Forest Whitaker perform below standard. Michael B. Jordan plays a generic and clichéd villain. He performs the worst. The action is very good, but the films pacing is terrible. The film starts off fast but comes to a halt halfway through. The runtime is very overlong as well.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:13:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My feeling after the movie - bored, something I won't watch again. Here is why I didn't like it (during the movie I felt like leaving, and thats a bad sign for someone who goes to the cinema every week): 1. All action scenes are blurred (you get a headache) and mostly dark (you can hardly see anything). 2. While the movie is long in length the story feels short. Quite a few scenes are over stretched to add minutes but they don't add any content etc.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:10:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One almost forgets that this is a comic book flick for kids due to the almost hysterical reactions of the media and fans. It's entertaining enough on a rainy afternoon, but hardly worthy of the nearly messianic significance it has assumed. Once exposed it's no more or less than other Marvel movie, though maybe less since it lacks the exceptional action we're accustomed to in favor of dialogue. That would be fine if it was needed and significant, but it isn't.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:02:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Based in 'Wakanda', which is an African fantasy location. The source of the population vast wealth, and advanced technology is an ancient cosmic metal called 'nonsenseanium'. The plot is poor, the acting is wooden, with no humour and hardly any action. We see how the 'Lion King Simba' rip-off becomes king and is challenged by the 'Scar' rip-off for his throne. The film has been over-hyped and not as good as the reviews lead you to believe, it appears that reviews are being cautious of giving honest criticism in fear of being called racist! I didn't much like Wonder Woman either, but this isn't even as good as that. Overly long (134 minutes), very disappointing and boring.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 10:52:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Subpar to say the least. Political partisanship has now cemented its ugly head into almost every movie being delivered for mass consumption. Most moviegoers such as myself take in a flick to escape today's overt political nonsense and everybody's got an agenda world we live in........even if only for a couple hours. Forget about it. Not going to happen. For me there is so much effort to preach (as that's what it is) a particular political viewpoint that it totally interferes with story and character development. Because of this I found Black Panther almost unbearable and struggled to make it to the end. Besides that, technically the CGI was wayyy off and character development severely compromised. Just awful. Possibly the most undeserving over-hyped movie of all time.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 10:22:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Where I thought the film fell short was in character development and the screenplay. The actors weren't given a wide range of emotions to display. Most of the characters are either emotionally very stern and stoic, or angry. I felt the lack of variety in emotions got in the way of making the characters more human and approachable. Michael Jordan's American accent and demeanor sticks out like a sore thumb in a cast of well spoken and articulate African character. But physically, Jordan physique does look incredibly badass and tough in the film -- so that's a plus. I'm still wondering if the skin bumps on his torso were CGI or prosthetics.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 10:11:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    What I didn't like was the infighting between the tribes and the blame game with western cultures. The film depicts a technically advanced society but with backward tribal strifes between each other. It just seem contradictory, but that's just my opinion. I do look forward to a sequel. But I hope the sequel has an external villain were the nation of Wakanda join together to fight a common enemy instead of more infighting between tribes. Next time, make a solid story first, then build the special effects around it instead of the other way around.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 10:01:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My spidey BS sensors went off on high alert during the days before this film was released to theaters. The news and entertainment media began praising the movie, over and over and over. A 97% Rotten Tomatoes score was quoted often before the film had been released to general audiences. A really good film doesn't need to be praised by the entertainment community when it really is good. Word of mouth among general audiences will ramp up interest in the film. So I went to the theater to see for myself. My spidey senses were right. The professional critics overhyped this film exactly like they did The Last Jedi. Very likely for political reasons which really damages the credibility of review sites every time they over-hype a movie they want to push on to the public.