Greater Ottawa Movies

Black Panther

Black Panther

Score: 5.64 / 10

Release Date: September 04, 2018
Director: Ryan Coogler
Producer: Kevin Feige
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Lupita Nyong'o, Danai Gurira, Martin Freeman, Daniel Kaluuya, Letitia Wright, Winston Duke, Sterling K. Brown, Angela Bassett, Forest Whitaker, Andy Serkis
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


Black Panther movie reviews

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 12:13:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The villains are shown as such but the lack of character from the protagonists leaves a sour taste is one's mouth, especially since black panther is such a great character in the marvel franchise.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:55:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    He didn't grow into a King instead he simply changed his political view which is a shame because why couldn't he do both. Worth a watch, but make your own opinion I mean I'm only a film student. Oh and who the hell cared when Forest Whitaker's character died because I certainly didn't, trying to make it like an important characters death, when actually we'd only seen him twice before. That's why this film is mediocre at best but doesn't even rate that high by my standards.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:26:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Miracle healing and Panther suits concealed within necklace teeth is VERY hard to swallow indeed. Vibranium was an indestructible Alien metal that could absorb sound. Fair enough. Great material for weapons and armor. But spaceships and miracle healing? Really? Couldn't we have toned it down just a little?

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:12:20 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    What is most disappointing, is that it doesn't seem to tie into the Marvel continuity at all (apart from the unremarkable Everett Ross, who appeared from nowhere in Civil War and is a poor attempt to replace Agent Coulson). Like Wonder Woman, this is simply a "Black Panther tale" and you can take it or leave it when embarking on your next Marvel marathon.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 11:01:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The film looks great (some dodgy CGI aside) - I liked the armor, weaponry and cultural aesthetics. I also felt a lot of the performances were quite compelling. Unfortunately, it is all rather dull. And doesn't feature anything we haven't seen before.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 10:55:54 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is great of all the tribal people's of the world. Seeing hi tech combined with tribal royalty is interesting to say the least. Is this where we're headed? Forward to the past? Who can say..but the movie fails us.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 10:47:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The plot was pretty stock standard. Plenty of stuff I'd seen before.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:25:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    With all the hype surrounding this movie (excellent trailers, Kendrick-curated soundtrack, all-African cast) I thought I was in for something special with Black Panther, as while they aren't remotely the highest quality movies, the Marvel cinematic universe movies are generally pretty entertaining. As it turns out I was wrong, Black Panther was extremely average, I have no idea what these critics/review bots are talking about when they say that it is the best Marvel movie and worthy of "critical" praise (as not just a super hero movie but as a movie in general.)

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:23:12 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was bored. My friend was bored. After his wonderful debut in Civil War, this was a bit of a wasted opportunity.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:20:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I found the advanced technology to be completely over the top. Weapons and armor, I can understand.