Greater Ottawa Movies

Black Panther

Black Panther

Score: 5.64 / 10

Release Date: September 04, 2018
Director: Ryan Coogler
Producer: Kevin Feige
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Lupita Nyong'o, Danai Gurira, Martin Freeman, Daniel Kaluuya, Letitia Wright, Winston Duke, Sterling K. Brown, Angela Bassett, Forest Whitaker, Andy Serkis
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


Black Panther movie reviews

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:18:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The genre is a little hard to quantify, but it reminded a lot of Wonder Woman. Except, instead of the WW2 setting, we had a kind of Bond-style thriller instead, complete with ridiculous gadgets and under-developed baddies.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:17:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    We get the first post-credit scene when BP visits the UN assembly and says that he is ready to share the knowledge with all the nations. I'm pretty sure that we already have a lot of knowledge on slaughtering each other in wars and even civil wars, so his knowledge is not going to make a great difference.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:15:48 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very bad. Don't trust ratings for RT. If you like it - like it, if you don't - no need to be afraid to say that you didn't like it. You know you've seen a good movie when you exit the theater with something changed inside, an emotion, a thought - BP is not such a movie.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:13:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Ahhh here we go again, another Marvel film. And I know I'm probably going to annoy a lot of people but, this is my review and if people disagree good for them. Disappointing, great potential and I really, really wanted to like it but... I didn't.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:12:48 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the biggest things was the character T'Challa, who as I've mentioned is an amazing and really cool character, he is also rated to be sixth 'most intelligent' character in the marvel universe however on the big screen he was no-where near what he was meant to be, it was like he was a completely different character in the films; I don't want to sound like a comic book nerd, I love it when characters change in films but this is a completely new person with almost no similarities other than his name.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:11:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The CGI, completely ridiculous and over used.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:09:57 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It relies heavily on silly conflict based on ignoring truth. There's no reason to kill the king because his father killed your father if it was done out of defense.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:08:22 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The good stuff: even though there were just 3 sets of Wakanda I still kinda loved it, the music choice was good, showing all that traditionalism, the nature. Killmonger's scene with his father was gold, I wish we had more dramatic scenes (it was well acted and well executed overall). The sister was kinda cool sometimes, being a more modern character and rejecting the old ways. Even though she's a little too much Mary Sue. Yet the main reason why I still decided to write this is the reviews. This has to stop. And I'm not talking solely about RT 97% which is just ridiculous. It's like people are afraid to judge something impartially cause of getting shamed for being racist or something.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:06:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Killmonger and Klaue were the best characters in the movie. The story was nonsense, they achieved nothing , BP leaned nothing and is still a worthless king and a bad leader. Was nice to see Serkis having a lot of fun in this movie, I love that guy and I'd love to see more of him (guess he's tired of playing CGI puppets...Gollum...Gollum).

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 9:04:52 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Killmonger was driven by revenge at first, then his motivation turned into some uncertain political position about oppression, but in the end it seems that he just loved his country (but not the people, it seems). The scene where BP suggests that Killmonger can be saved and healed completely destroys all the rivalry and the motivation of both.