Greater Ottawa Movies

Black Panther

Black Panther

Score: 5.64 / 10

Release Date: September 04, 2018
Director: Ryan Coogler
Producer: Kevin Feige
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Lupita Nyong'o, Danai Gurira, Martin Freeman, Daniel Kaluuya, Letitia Wright, Winston Duke, Sterling K. Brown, Angela Bassett, Forest Whitaker, Andy Serkis
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


Black Panther movie reviews

  • 9

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 10:29:55 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I could not find one thing that I did not like about this movie. It is a very good movie.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 10:25:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    How easy was it to snatch the throne from the king in an advanced society. Not believable at all. Poor writing and poor effects. ONE OF THE WORST MARVEL MOVIES, AND I PUT FANTASTIC FOUR IN THIS GROUP.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 10:04:10 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I didn't much like Wonder Woman either, but this isn't even as good as that. Overly long (134 minutes), very disappointing and boring.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:50:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Picture an imagined realm of magic and majesty, a prince who is to inherit the throne, a flawed Father/King who is revealed to have have wronged a family member who becomes the central opponent. This is not Asgard, the prince is not Thor, the King is not Odin and the wronged family member is not Loki. Aside from a retread origin story, I also had issues with the tempo of the film.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:47:13 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Utter trash. This movie was hyped up to be the best super hero movie since The Dark Knight. Michael B. Jordan's character was said to rival Heath Ledger's joker. Okay. I really hoped the movie would be great and offer something different - especially since Black Panther was always a huge favorite of mine and I thought had some of the most creative writing and setting vs. the generic "Gotham" location. Instead we got a boring movie that is clearly only being hyped up because of the current political situation in the USA. The movie was bland, the fight scenes were boring. The acting was nothing special though Michael B. Jordan was clearly the standout - but to compare him to Heath Ledger is laughable at best. Honestly, I would have fell asleep if it wasn't for the constant clapping and cheering from my fellow millennial's. For scenes we've seen before and a story we've seen before.

  • 9

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:45:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A must go see film.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:42:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you want a film with a dour dreary lead character, lots of uncanny valley moments, and LOTS AND LOTS OF POLITICAL GRANDSTANDING with no payoff, then this is the film for you. Just remember The Godfather / Goodfellas / Star Wars / Schindler's List all barely broke 90%, yet THIS is supposed to be 100%! If you don't think the ratings for this are agenda driven, I've got a bridge to sell you! I do NOT want a Black Panther 2 - I think the days of single super hero movies are done

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:38:12 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I know EXACTLY who this film was geared for, and it was NOT for your typical Marvel comic book movie fan. it had good points, The tech wiz sis has major potential, Wakanda looked spectacular (if you ignore the poor water animations (the ripples in the water looked cut and paste, watch MOANA for how water can be animated!) The soundtrack bore no relation to the action (action scenes sounded the same as the quiet moments!). But the worst "crime" was the agenda it pushed. There is NO Excuse for this, as they PROVED they can have strong storyline in Winter soldier.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:33:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    As for the claim that this is unlike any other Marvel film - I beg to differ - unless you refer to how insular the whole film is, as it is based almost entirely in Wakanda. Which could be acceptable, until you realise most of the action took place outside of wakanda - in the remaining 5-10% of the film! Winter Soldier was CONSIDERABLY better than this. Guardians was better and more fun! Avengers had greater scope.Ragnarok was funnier.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:30:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I MUST discuss the CGI. This is a MASSIVE problem. Sure Wakanda looks spectacular, but so did Asgard. It's the motion of the main characters that is the problem. It seems that whilst they can get stationary objects (buildings etc) virtually spot on now, the same can NOT be said for dynamic ones. If you have watched any of the trailers, you'll know what I mean when you see Black Panther do his somersault The dynamic CGI characters look crystal clear, whilst the real life objects have a faint blur to them. You can just see where the live action starts and the CGI ends. If the cars were CGI as well you wouldn't notice the difference so much, but it IS there, and because it seems 90% of this film is CGI, in the end it becomes very annoying.