Greater Ottawa Movies

Black Panther

Black Panther

Score: 5.64 / 10

Release Date: September 04, 2018
Director: Ryan Coogler
Producer: Kevin Feige
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Lupita Nyong'o, Danai Gurira, Martin Freeman, Daniel Kaluuya, Letitia Wright, Winston Duke, Sterling K. Brown, Angela Bassett, Forest Whitaker, Andy Serkis
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


Black Panther movie reviews

  • 9

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:29:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awesome!!!!!

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:29:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Andy Serkis was excellent, but far too underused - Michael B Jordan's "big bad"? I understand the anger, I don't get his ultimate goal - makes NO sense. The female bodyguards were the nearest thing to Mary sues in the movie. Really - beating up men TWICE their size with the SAME military background?

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:28:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The main character of the film is T'Chala - a character so depressingly dour and serious, he could be a candidate for depression. You have his younger sister - who is CLEARLY being geared up as effectively riri from the comics - she WILL be the replacement for Tony Stark! To best describe her, she is a light hearted Q from thee James Bond films - I liked her, she was fun, lively, bright, as a character a real find. If I were able to post a one or two word review, it would either be agenda or uncanny valley. Everything I feared this film would do, it did. Indeed in a couple of places it even referred to the (*spoilers*?) the slave trade! Seriously? In the 21st century you are going to refer at least twice in the same film to the slave trade - which BTW if you follow the film's premise would NOT have affected Wakanda as they were cut off from the rest of the world!

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:15:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The cast was amazing. The acting was not. The colors and cinematography was amazing. The story line was not. If I'm writing a very honest review that critiques this movie solely on quality of production, acting, story line, and sound, then I have to say it was bitterly disappointing. The story moves at the pace of a turtle. The story line? Incredibly predictable. The villain? Just some angry cousin that had horrendous reasoning behind his choices. Where were the awesome beats? The sounds in that first trailer were UNREAL. Not here. Marvel... you could've done so much better with this.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 9:12:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The story was boring, the attempts at humor were not funny, and the thing about it that I hated the most was it's crappy CGI. This is another crappy movie that the professional critics are rating far higher than it deserves. They recently did the same thing with The Last Jedi and now this. I'm beginning to think that Disney is paying off the critics to give their movies excellent reviews.

  • 10

    Black Panther

    Wednesday, February 28, 2018 12:42:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wakanda was a exotic place. I wish they would spend more time in the city. Still some of the scenes were amazing.

  • 2

    Black Panther

    Tuesday, February 27, 2018 10:48:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If this movie wasn't so hyped then I would have given it a better score, it was boring. None of characters have any character arches, and it was really just not interesting. Paddington 2 has more pathos on it, and it is a cgi bear.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Tuesday, February 27, 2018 10:03:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was just really bland and same-y like every other cape movie these days, and frankly the "secret high-tech Africa" angle was condescending and kind of exploitative. It's pretty disturbing to think that a lot of people seem to think Wakanda really exists (movie was predominantly shot in South Korea with most of the rest in Georgia.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Tuesday, February 27, 2018 9:45:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Black Panther is a visually stunning movie with a very weak plot and villain. Killmonger would have been much more interesting if he'd made the plot of his movie about his revenge - instead, he devolved into generic TAKE OVER THE WORLD!!1!oneone mentality within 10 minutes of his appearance, and this is a villain who doesn't show up until the final hour of the movie to begin with. Overall, this is probably the single weakest Marvel movie to date. It's still better than pretty much every DC movie bar Wonder Woman, but it's a very poor showing, especially coming hot on the heels of Thor: Ragnarok.

  • 1

    Black Panther

    Tuesday, February 27, 2018 9:08:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is a mixed bag for me; on one hand it was decent and told a compelling story, on the other it is a slog and has some elements that grate. Black Panther is a hero in a comic series, seen in a few films before this dedicated film. Movie involves a disgruntled citizen who wants to over through the king. A personal pet peeve is trial by combat, it was stupid to portray an advanced culture and a primitive practice; this is also a major plot point in the movie; did the writers get there jobs by trial of combat, it seems so. The action scenes were contrived, the scenes jumped around a bit, the music was all of dumb, the story was watchable but not "Gladiator", level. If you like comic hero movie its worth a watch, if you are ify, I recommend Dr Strange as a better entry into the genre, it is a far better film, otherwise, this will disappoint at best.