Greater Ottawa Movies

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Score: 5.57 / 10

Release Date: July 26, 2019
Director: Quentin Tarantino
Producer: David Heyman, Quentin Tarantino, Shannon McIntosh
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, Margot Robbie, Dakota Fanning, Al Pacino, Timothy Olyphant, Kurt Russell, Lorenza Izzo, James Marsden, Bruce Dern, Margaret Qualley, Lena Dunham, Damon Herriman, Rumer Willis, Damian Lewis, Emile Hirsch, Tim Roth, Austin Butler, Luke Perry, Zoë Bell, Scoot McNairy, Nicholas Hammond, Brenda Vaccaro
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 161 minutes

Write a Review


Once Upon a Time in Hollywood movie reviews

  • 7

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Saturday, August 24, 2019 10:29:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Rick Dalton flipping out in his trailer is my spirit animal. I thought it was a fun movie. Might be too close to an independent film for some people. There's lots of talking. Some people don't like that. First movie in a long time where I laughed audibly in the theater more than once.

  • 4

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Friday, August 23, 2019 6:45:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If it were not for the specific actors, this would be one of the worst 3 shows we have ever seen. Too bad the 2 male leads agreed to do this one.

  • 1

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Friday, August 23, 2019 1:01:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The plot, language, graphic and lewd scenes were horrible. What a waste of Brad Pitt's abilities. Even one star is too high but because Brad did the best he could do with an awful script, I'll rate it 1 star.

  • 2

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Friday, August 23, 2019 11:00:06 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved the 60's vibe and attention to detail but the movie was way too long and very slow paced.

  • 10

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 8:53:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awesome movie

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 5:10:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved the character development, and how the story unfolded.

  • 9

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 3:53:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A great movie. Only prudes and dirty idiot hippies will hate it.

  • 5

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 1:10:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The first two thirds or so of the movie was great. I loved the camera angles and the shots of downtown LA with all the old cars dating from 1968 and earlier; the costumes that mimicked late 'sixties fashion were right on. Tension slowly builds as we are introduced to the Manson Family. However, once the killing begins the film drops from a four or five star rating to a one star rating (if that). The violence was over the top, even for Tarentino. The apparent attempt at blood drenched humour was sickening and the constant disparaging of long haired poor people as 'dirty hippies' was tiresome.

  • 7

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, August 21, 2019 9:24:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    An homage to Hollywood in the late 1960s. Try to keep up with all of the movie genres Tarantino weaves through this story. Great acting, neat insights into movie-making, and great music. The Sharon Tate murders is tossed out there in the trailers, but Tarantino has more up his creative sleeve. Some people seem confused by that. They should look at that movie poster a little closer. The story gets a bit too loose for me in the middle, but my thrill never wavered in this ride.

  • 10

    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

    Wednesday, August 21, 2019 4:39:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Immensely entertaining! Loved the attention to the details from the 1960s. This was classic Tarantino—unpredictable, funny and also violent. If you’re expecting ‘The Sound of Music’ or a Doris Day movie...this ain’t the movie for you. I’d definitely see it again!