Greater Ottawa Movies

The Lion King

The Lion King

Score: 7.29 / 10

Release Date: July 19, 2019
Director: Jon Favreau
Producer: Jeffrey Silver, Jon Favreau, Karen Gilchrist
Studio: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
Starring: Donald Glover, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, James Earl Jones, Seth Rogen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfre Woodard, Billy Eichner, John Kani, John Oliver, Florence Kasumba, Eric André, JD McCrary, Shahadi Wright Joseph, Keegan-Michael Key
Genre: Family
Running Time: 118 minutes

Write a Review


The Lion King movie reviews

  • 7

    The Lion King

    Thursday, August 15, 2019 9:32:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really enjoyed this movie. Not as good as the original but still entertaining.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Wednesday, August 14, 2019 4:27:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very realistic, full of action, funny & heartwarming. Don't understand what's not like, those that give it a negative review would do the same with any movie no matter how good it is. Children may prefer the original one better but my wife and I enjoyed it very much.

  • 4

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 7:33:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    To be honest I was bored. It is exactly like the animated film almost shot for shot. Will kids like it? Probably but it is sad the Disney can only come up with a remake of a previous film. What's next? Robin Hood? The rescuers? Perhaps Im being a grump but this did not work for me. Disney brought back James Earl Jones but did they run out of money for Jeremy Irons? Now he had the bad guy voice.

  • 5

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 3:54:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Animated feature still better...

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 2:51:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    We liked everything about this movie! By far one of the best ever.

  • 1

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 2:04:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lugubrious and artificial. A cynical cash-grab from an evil corporation,

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, August 13, 2019 1:19:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was a wonderful movie. I might go see it again it is that good. Great for people of all ages.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Monday, August 12, 2019 8:44:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie so much! My 10 year old son, my husband, and myself saw it. My son said that it was one of the best movies he's ever seen. I was worried that it would be a bit slow in the beginning but the momentum picked up pretty quickly, and the movie flew by. This film just has so many meaningful meta-themes and these themes are beautifully and engagingly played out from beginning to end.

  • 8

    The Lion King

    Sunday, August 11, 2019 4:10:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The cartoon was better - I enjoyed the fact that it was so real like but for the most part the cartoon was better

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Sunday, August 11, 2019 1:23:14 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved everything about this movie. Very good movie