Greater Ottawa Movies

The Lion King

The Lion King

Score: 7.29 / 10

Release Date: July 19, 2019
Director: Jon Favreau
Producer: Jeffrey Silver, Jon Favreau, Karen Gilchrist
Studio: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
Starring: Donald Glover, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, James Earl Jones, Seth Rogen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfre Woodard, Billy Eichner, John Kani, John Oliver, Florence Kasumba, Eric André, JD McCrary, Shahadi Wright Joseph, Keegan-Michael Key
Genre: Family
Running Time: 118 minutes

Write a Review


The Lion King movie reviews

  • 8

    The Lion King

    Friday, July 26, 2019 9:08:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I liked it…..better than the animated version....which was painfully slow....this one moved along better....and the kids seemed to like it. I personally abhor the political correctness that seeps into every movie today.....and this was no exception....it's propaganda and this is aimed at kids.....just horrid. Disney is the best at this type of film....not 5 star for me, but close.....STOP THE PC STUFF!!

  • 6

    The Lion King

    Thursday, July 25, 2019 4:29:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    8 & 6 year old grandsons liked it. I personally thought the animated version was better..

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Wednesday, July 24, 2019 10:04:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved it! Loved it! Loved It! The original is one of my favorite movie so I did not know what to expect with this remake but it does not disappoint. The live-action technology is amazing. Go see it and ENJOY!!!!

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Wednesday, July 24, 2019 1:46:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie was fantastic! I had seen the original when it was in theaters and bought the video to watch again and again! But this rendition is beyond my expectations! I was enthralled from beginning to end! Hopefully I will be able to see it again before it leaves our theater!

  • 7

    The Lion King

    Wednesday, July 24, 2019 10:00:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    How could anyone give this movie less then 5 stars it was amazing.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, July 23, 2019 9:57:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The graphics were incredible! The story line, as it was in the original movie. Who gets tired of James Earl Jones! He is awesome! I loved the movie and so did my daughter and my teenage grandson and 4 year old granddaughter. Rated PG. Simply amazing!

  • 1

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, July 23, 2019 2:58:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    No imagination or creativity. A boring cash grab. From someone who grew up on the original.

  • 2

    The Lion King

    Tuesday, July 23, 2019 2:21:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not worth seeing. Go see Toy Story instead.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Monday, July 22, 2019 8:15:42 PM | (age group: 35–49) | F

    I Totally Loved this movie

  • 7

    The Lion King

    Monday, July 22, 2019 4:09:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Stunning CGI, so realistically breathtaking. I advise you prepare yourself NOT to make comparisons to original, otherwise may be disappointed somewhat. This is a more 'real' film that impresses yet elicits similar emotions like the first. Glad James Earl Jones did Mufasa again and wish Jeremy Irons had done Scar. I did not give 5 stars because I prefer the singers and arrangement of some songs in the original. People clapped at the end, so enjoy.