Greater Ottawa Movies

The Lion King

The Lion King

Score: 7.29 / 10

Release Date: July 19, 2019
Director: Jon Favreau
Producer: Jeffrey Silver, Jon Favreau, Karen Gilchrist
Studio: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
Starring: Donald Glover, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, James Earl Jones, Seth Rogen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfre Woodard, Billy Eichner, John Kani, John Oliver, Florence Kasumba, Eric André, JD McCrary, Shahadi Wright Joseph, Keegan-Michael Key
Genre: Family
Running Time: 118 minutes

Write a Review


The Lion King movie reviews

  • 1

    The Lion King

    Monday, July 22, 2019 2:10:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Yet another remake that follows an original film so slavishly, yet is "cold around the heart". This somehow adds a half hour of running time, but nothing else. The animation of the lip movement when the animals talk just seems creepy. I was dragged to this. This is hollow; and this is not a creative enterprise...this is just recycling for profit.

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Monday, July 22, 2019 1:45:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Go see it, don't let the bad reviews spoil the experience you could be having! - One of Disney's best, as they have perfected CGI with this one because at one-time hair whether it was on humans or an animal didn't always look real enough & getting animal movements was also a very difficult thing to produce because each one moves in there own way. So it seems those working on this film have done their homework & studied the movements & each hair of every animal on the screen & there are a lot of them showing up at one time. So along with a story-line that keeps you watching the screen, this is one movie that is very well done & seems so real at times it just may scare the younger children, not like the 1st Lion King! Just to show you how much people were affected by the film, many broke out in clapping when the movie ended which even though I love it I would only do at a live stage show!

  • 1

    The Lion King

    Monday, July 22, 2019 1:09:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    not my favorite. Saw original when it first came out at movies and this remake does not come close. The voices were all wrong and skipped out on some of my favorite scenes. I also thought the songs sounded awful. I was disappointed.

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Monday, July 22, 2019 11:49:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awesome!! A lot of good can be learned from that movie!! Kudos to the writers, directors and all who were involved!!

  • 5

    The Lion King

    Monday, July 22, 2019 10:42:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The animation was stunning, the rest lacked emotion and creativity. I was quite disappointed with the casting and even James Earl Jones reprisal lacked the emotional presence the original had.

  • 4

    The Lion King

    Monday, July 22, 2019 1:39:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great for the kiddos, Disney fanatics, and anyone who has not seen any previous version. Otherwise, while acceptable entertainment, the musical score was flat, the computer generated scenery of the kingdom generated no awe (or ah's) and with the exception of the evil "Scar" and the warthog, the "acting" as uninspiring and unimaginative beyond the script read, It wasn't awful.

  • 9

    The Lion King

    Sunday, July 21, 2019 9:51:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It brought my childhood back to life...spot on. It was incredible. Worth the wait for it to come to theaters

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Sunday, July 21, 2019 8:33:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved the movie,it most definitely touch's the heart.Job well done

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Sunday, July 21, 2019 6:50:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I saw the movie this afternoon. I had liked it

  • 10

    The Lion King

    Sunday, July 21, 2019 6:17:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you have cat, you will appreciate this movie much more. It definitely melted my heart.