Greater Ottawa Movies

The Post

The Post

The Post

Score: 6.28 / 10

Release Date: January 12, 2018
Director: Steven Spielberg
Producer: Amy Pascal, Kristie Macosko Krieger, Steven Spielberg
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Starring: Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Sarah Paulson, Bob Odenkirk, Tracy Letts, Bradley Whitford, Bruce Greenwood, Matthew Rhys, Alison Brie, Carrie Coon, David Cross, Jesse Plemons, Michael Stuhlbarg, Zach Woods
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 115 minutes

Write a Review


The Post movie reviews

  • 5

    The Post

    Tuesday, January 16, 2018 9:57:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Boring as heck until Meryl Streep's character finally grew a pair and made a brave decision, one that could have had dire consequences. It angered me that American governments are so frivolous with people's lives.

  • 9

    The Post

    Tuesday, January 16, 2018 2:28:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great telling of newspaper courage -- a companion-piece to "Spotlight". The audience applauded.

  • 10

    The Post

    Tuesday, January 16, 2018 1:48:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you like history watch this movie. This is not a story, it really happened. The freedom of the press is the base of the story. What made this movie interesting to me is that after WWII the Truman administration paid the French to fight the beginning of the Vietnam war. Every President afterward backed the war for 30 years. The New Times and Katherine Grahamís Washington Post put their news paperís reputation on the chopping block. Graham and others faced prison if they lost the judgement. She banked her trust on the Supreme Court and the 4 amendment. The Post and NY Times won that battle of that day but powers that be today may win out this time. What was Spielberg message to viewers? Not sure only time will tell. He showed how women of that day were locked out of most business decisions. Get coffee, type a memo, stand behind closed doors that what women jobs are but certainly do not stand up to attorneys and board members or the President. Many news publishers along with their neighbors children were overseas fighting that war. I was up for the draft and my older brother and young men we knew were serving in the military at that time. Everyday I would read the news paper to see how many boys were killed and hoping for the safety of my brother. The only real issue to me at the time was the draft. Today Iím 65 and able to see that The Post brings forth many more issues. I say itís a thinking mans/womanís movie.

  • 10

    The Post

    Tuesday, January 16, 2018 12:23:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I watched the movie Saturday the 13th. I was graduating from high school when the Washington Post and New York Times took on President Nixon. Afterwards the Post broke open the Water Gate break in story which ended Nixonís Presidentcy. Similar events are taking place today. Only this country will never be the same whether Trump survives his term or gets impeached. I highly recommend younger people watch this movie. The roller coaster ride begins

  • 9

    The Post

    Tuesday, January 16, 2018 9:46:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I went to the first showing on Friday and was surprised to find the theater nearly sold out. Overall a great story well told. Until this I did not realize what courage it took for Ms. Graham to publish these papers. I doubt today's Supreme Court will role as they did then.

  • 10

    The Post

    Monday, January 15, 2018 11:38:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really liked the movie about the Viet Nam papers. Tom Hanks and Meryl Streep always good. There was language but it fit the scenes. It was part of my time in history. People even clapped after some scenes. Seats were comfortable. Bathrooms were clean, as always. Always plenty of parking.

  • 10

    The Post

    Monday, January 15, 2018 12:49:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    An Interesting and absorbing background story on an important piece of history. A story still so relevant to our time. Nicely placed, with, as one has come to expect from these two artists, (Streep and Hanks), a very fine delivery.

  • 9

    The Post

    Monday, January 15, 2018 1:13:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautifully done, casting great, costumes, settings, all of it lst class and I remember it as a college student and how much freedom of the press still means so much in a digital world.

  • 10

    The Post

    Sunday, January 14, 2018 8:56:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    fabulous, near perfect film...great acting...incredibly well done

  • 10

    The Post

    Sunday, January 14, 2018 6:49:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    First of all. Anyone who trashes or criticizes this film has insufficient information to even pass an opinion on what happened. I was 21 years old in 1971and demonstrated against the war and filed for a conscientious objection status because I knew the Vietnnam War was a big mistake. McNamara knew we could not win the war and so did Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon. The Pentagon lied and mislead all of these presidents in order to avoid the image that we would lose the war which we did. However, Nixon was the worst. He not only lied but tried to cover up his lies, tried to discredit the press and broke many laws to hide his lies and his disgusting plot to destroy any evidence. Nixon deserved to be impeached but he also deserved to be put in jail which is exactly what will happen with Trump. Just wait and see. This film was well scripted, directed, filmed and acted. Anyone who attacks Meryl Streep or this film is, quite honestly, totally misinformed if not stupid!