Greater Ottawa Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.48 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Rating: 14A
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, March 3, 2018 4:05:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really liked the portrayal of the dark, almost surreal world that Eliza lives and works in. Her attraction to the creature---slow at first but then growing in intensity--intrigued me and seemed plausible. Some of the violence was a little gratuitous (i.e. Dimitri's demise, which was very bloody) and as a cat lover, I was disturbed by the creature killing and eating the cat in the apartment, although I can understand why the creature did it.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, March 3, 2018 11:38:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This was an enchanting movie that had a great storyline. The plot was simple with some interesting twists and there is plenty of action for keeping your attention without senseless violence. Potentially one of the best movies I have seen in the past few years - perhaps second only to Hidden Figures!

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 3:44:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the best movies of all time ! Last time I saw a good original movies like this was Woody Allen's "Midnight in Paris" 17 years ago !! Hollywood need more movies like this ,they have lost their way on remakes ,hope writers and producers take notice that you can still be creative and a commercial success at the same time !! If the movie didn't have the sexual connotations and scenes ,would definitely been a Family Golden Era Hollywood classic ! But this will definitely become a Cult Classic for sure !!

  • 7

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 3:41:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved the first half, and it was beautifully directed throughout (with exceptional production design) with a man intangible fairy-tale feeling but I could have definitely done without the overtly romantic relationship. You could have removed the sex scenes, kept everything else the same, and it wouldn't have lost any of its specialness.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 3:39:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Del Toro really drives the notion of: if you ever felt you were from another time and place, but having to live with the reality of this is where I am right now. The period the movie's set in matches the mood of the story - grim with a bit of hope. Shannon's instant karma is somewhat funny and tragic. I feel sorry for him...almost. Great acting by all! Beautiful set design and the amphibian man's costume is flawless.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 3:33:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Shape of Water (2017) was an absolute delight. It was a perfect adult fairy tale and not what I was expecting at all. It has an otherworldly feel to it, great soundtrack, amazing story, and suitable effects. Wasn't expecting a Cold War period drama but it's that too! A+ movie.

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, March 1, 2018 5:07:03 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beastiality porn.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, February 26, 2018 12:37:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Magical realism at its best. If u donít understand or appreciate this literary genre then by all means stay home and drink beer and do your usual brain dead with your favorite pap. Give it a 5 for brilliance !

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 25, 2018 1:37:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Shape of Water is the type of film you could go to high and think is perfectly normal and go to sober and think is totally nuts, it was still a beautiful love story, albeit insane. Depends on what your motivation for seeing the movie was. If you went in thinking it was a cold war government conspiracy movie then that's really not the main focus of the film so you may not be all that interested. yes, there is some back story relating to the Russians and the USA and there is some cold war tactics and it centered around that time but it's mainly the story of an alien and a human falling in love. It's mental but strangely beautiful.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 25, 2018 1:35:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Shape of Water is an excellent film. It is about a lonely janitor forms a unique relationship with an amphibious creature in the 1960s. Sally Hawkins and Octavia Spencer give fantastic performances. The screenplay is well written. Guillermo Del Toro did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the adventure and drama. The Shape of Water is is a must see.