Greater Ottawa Movies

Vice

Vice

Score: 5.96 / 10

Release Date: December 25, 2018
Director: Adam McKay
Producer: Adam McKay, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Kevin J. Messick
Studio: Entertainment One
Starring: Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Steve Carell, Sam Rockwell, Tyler Perry, Alison Pill, Lily Rabe, Eddie Marsan, Justin Kirk, LisaGay Hamilton, Jesse Plemons
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 132 minutes

Write a Review


Vice movie reviews

  • 9

    Vice

    Sunday, January 27, 2019 5:37:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I always appreciate a well acted comedy.

  • 9

    Vice

    Sunday, January 27, 2019 2:54:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    "VICE" confirmed and reinforced my worst memories of those times. The tenure of Cheney and Rumsfeld was a disgrace as well as a precursor of the current presidency and the politicizing of what used to be public service for personal gain of wealth, power or both. I had forgotten that before the Cheney family threw Mary under the bus for the sake of daughter Liz's campaign, they had actually supported her gay marriage. What a tragedy....

  • 8

    Vice

    Sunday, January 27, 2019 1:23:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I found the film to be fairly entertaining and exceptionally well acted. Although it presents much that is factual in basis, its cynical bias against Cheney and his ilk comes at the expense of a lack of insight into their actual motivations. I expect it will tend to get bad, if not outright bitter, ratings from those on the right, as well as be too readily absorbed as fact by those on the left. "Fake news" has sadly become what we choose not to believe. Critical thinking needs to be taught in all schools: maybe future generations can better overcome their biases.

  • 10

    Vice

    Friday, January 25, 2019 7:15:41 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Dialogue sometimes extrapolates from known discussions, based on documents produced during encounter, etc. But most of the plot is grounded in well-documented meetings, politicians’ concurrent statements, and related public events, which gave both the writer and the director plenty to work from. Sobering, often grim, but rich in irony and absurdity. Plus, the truly- phenomenal acting renders all the greed and madness genuine. Not to be missed.

  • 8

    Vice

    Friday, January 25, 2019 6:46:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Interesting, entertaining, sometimes wryly funny, amazing acting. The most damning stuff is what we all know from the news (WMDs, torture, "unitary executive" power, etc.), its the personal life stuff they maybe took liberty with, but that makes Cheney look like a decent guy.

  • 10

    Vice

    Friday, January 25, 2019 2:06:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Interesting to see how many people watch this movie and do not understand that all of it is true. One "fun" fact not in the movie ... wife, Lynne Cheney was on the Board of Directors of Lockheed Martin Corp (1994-2001) -- one of the largest defense contractors in the world.

  • 1

    Vice

    Friday, January 25, 2019 12:15:31 AM | (age group: 50 or over.) | M

    STAY HOME AND READ A BOOK. COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME. TERRIBLE

  • 2

    Vice

    Monday, January 21, 2019 6:51:38 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I thought about 90% of all of the films categories we're simply awful. A waste of time

  • 9

    Vice

    Sunday, January 20, 2019 6:31:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was well put together. I liked the fast cuts here and there, they were provocative, deliberately placed in a scene. Bale, Adams, and Rockwell (as President Bush) performances were outstanding.

  • 1

    Vice

    Sunday, January 20, 2019 11:30:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This was so obviously partisan that it distracted from the movie. It intermixed truth and conjecture. People took it as THE truth. Given the quality of the actors, this was beyond disappointing. Really wish I hadn't wasted my time to see it. Just more Fake News.