Greater Ottawa Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.14 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 3:59:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Meh !! 4 plots that start from different timelines and progress at different pace from each other, in order to get to the same point in time when the plots converge. Dialogue was scarce, acting - ok - The movie failed to capture the magnitude and scope of the issue. Even numerous beautiful panoramic shots still failed to convey the size of the near tragedy. I found myself bored and underwhelmed by the effort. I found myself better entertained by the 2 war veterans sitting in front of me getting pissed off by the far too many pre-movie commercials and the 3 teenage girls who wouldn't stop giggling.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 3:42:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a review and a rant. I would give this movie 4 and 1/2 stars The story was told from several perspectives and does not get romantic with one story --pearl harbour with Ben Affleck this tells the story of Dunkurk the pain and heroics. I read reviews where they said there was not enough action and I say go back to the FAST AND THE FURIOUS or THE AVENGERS... this was real.. it happened, people died this is no romance and if you need romance in a war movie there is something wrong. If you did not understand what it was about then google history. The movie has enough that you understand the human character good and brave and some cowardly. I ,for one, did not miss the romance from a movie about historic event in a war...The movie is not for those who feel romance is critical in a movie or those too immature to understand that movies about life are not Fast and furious special effects(unrealistic).. and I truly believe you must understand what kind of movie you are walking into before you buy a ticket....and be knowledgeable-- do not see TITANIC if you did not know lots of people died...

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 8:25:11 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great from start to finish. Beautifully directed, acting was amazing considering not a lot of dialogue. Great to see an adult movie without all the CG! Loved it.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 7:19:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The actual fact that this was a feat that really won WWII

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, July 25, 2017 1:20:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Harry Styles!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 10:26:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie is well worth the admission. It show you how close things came to a real disaster.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 10:18:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I like fast paced war movies with lots of talking, said no one ever

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 10:17:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not hard to understand English if you put your selfie stick down for 3 mins. It's a war movie, not sisterhood of the travelling pants.

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 9:02:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I do not know how any one can say this was a good movie it was nothing but killing no story line , when they did talk which was very limited, you could not understand what they were saying clearly , I feel My husband and I wasted 2 hours of our day ,

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Monday, July 24, 2017 8:18:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Visceral and riveting! The music, often staccato and pulsating in rhythm, but perfect for displaying the urgency and intensity of what was happening on the screen. Not your typical war movie and I suspect there will be some who will not appreciate this film. But to me, a masterpiece. RAN