Greater Ottawa Movies

Good Boys

Good Boys

Score: 5.13 / 10

Director: Lee Eisenberg
Producer: Evan Goldberg, James Weaver, Seth Rogen
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Jacob Tremblay, Keith L. Williams, Brady Noon, Molly Gordon, Lil Rel Howery, Will Forte
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 89 minutes

Write a Review


Good Boys movie reviews

  • 8

    Good Boys

    Friday, August 23, 2019 4:24:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I went with a group of my girl friends from Page to go see this film. WE were kind of divided about this film but pretty much thought it was either a three star film or a four star so I gave it the generous benefit of the doubt as a four star film. Over all I found it kind of funny as I have a 12 yr old younger brother and he and his friends kind of reminded me the comic stuff to expect. What was missing was any real warmth of feeling. I saw Stand By Me on Netflix two years ago and I was hoping for a bit more warmth and more of a message but I found it a bit crude. Also, most kids this age don't use language this bad - I know my brother and his friends don't but the beer scene was pretty accurate as are some of the other funny elements about the kids not understanding the deal about girls. I will admit it it was cute and funny but giving this film four stars is being generous.

  • 1

    Good Boys

    Friday, August 23, 2019 1:48:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Vulgar language This movie had such potential to be really cute and funny but the use of vulgarity was soooooo over the top. Im no prude but the use of the F word still makes me cringe!!!!! I left before it was over

  • 2

    Good Boys

    Friday, August 23, 2019 11:54:25 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Probably the reason they couldn't get any other kids with experience who could act to star alongside Jacob Tremblay is that hopefully the parents of other child stars have some sense and don't let their kids star in a disgusting movie like this. Once you're a star, you don't have to degrade yourself in vulgar trash movies. So the parents of the other kids just thought, well, whatever we have to do to get my kid famous and get some money. For Jacob Tremblay's parents, there's no excuse for this. He will be affected by having appeared in this crap. I hope they pay for the psychological bills he will incur for many years thanks to their stupidity and greed.

  • 6

    Good Boys

    Friday, August 23, 2019 1:36:24 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie reminded me of me a little bit when I was a kid wanting to sneak booze and get into trouble very funny

  • 4

    Good Boys

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 3:52:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    So, you will probably either love it or hate it. The fact that I am "old school" probably greatly influenced my opinion...but my upbringing was very different as well as the fact dad ran away from home at age 13, went to war later and had no childhood is soooo different.

  • 5

    Good Boys

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 3:50:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Silly coming of age films seem like they have been around for about 40 years. I recall back in 1980 seeing Little Darlings in High School and we have gotten a few such comedy drama films every few years with perhaps the best one with a more serious theme coming out a few years ago called Boyhood. Here, however this film fails to come up to steam as it never seems to take on any serious theme and seems to have no real message other than trying to set up one comic scene after another. This would work if the film was for a young audience but this film isn't and it appears to be aimed at an audience over 13 which leaves one a bit confused about the comic attempt. Jacob Tremblay does an ok job but the kids cast with him are so bad that one thinks one is seeing the sad cast of kids from the Robin Williams film Hook. Yet, despite the film having no messages or any substance one can sense there is something kind of unique about this film - almost a younger version of the 2007 film Superbad. What is missing here is the warmth of a film like stand by me or the inspiration of a film like Saint Ralph. So all and all the film is so so. Something like this film is a great idea but not like this. Drug themes and bad language are not needed to create the comic situation of ones tween years. The tween years can be comic with a more honest and funny depiction that boys this age are interested in Legos and sex on equal levels and can be incredibly confused about life in general. I can't recommend this film as it lacks any real heart and soul.

  • 2

    Good Boys

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 3:26:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    not funny-left after 45 minutes

  • 8

    Good Boys

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 1:30:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If the title for the series haden't been already taken, this film could have been called Stranger Things. Of course, the film is suppose to be set in present day but strangely enough it feels almost like something out of the 1990's if it weren't for the toy drone. The humor of the film is kind of low brow and crude and the film was hurt I think when the drug themes were brought into the story line. You can tell this film had the potential to be a great film but it failed to get there by a certain lack of creativity. It's genius is it provides an eye on the strange world of boys wanting to become men and failing miserably at it. This film is ok for people over 13 but I would not recommend parents taking young people under 13 to see it.

  • 7

    Good Boys

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 1:03:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Jacob Tremblay was great in this film but his performance was ruined by the two other unknowns shackled to him. It would be a bit like the three stooges with curly where Larry and Moe were now being played by unskilled comedians trying to be funny- It just was too much weight for Jacob Tremblay to carry alone. This film is very funny in a crude way that can be disturbing to adults. Yes, boys this age do talk and think this way but they don't around adults and by high school they don't talk and think like this even outside the adult world. When I first saw this it reminded me of a novel from the 1990's called The Dangerous lives of Altar Boys. Though the storyline was completely different the feel of the story was the same. The problem with a film like this and why they usually don't get made is they are polarizing films. It is like making a film about Antifa or Trump - you are going to see mostly 1 star or 5 star ratings which tells one less about the film than those seeing it. Sure, much of this humor is crude but it can be very funny as well. Could the writers have done a better job with scrip sure. Actually, the funniest part of such films can be the play on ignorance which the film never seemed to grab hold of fully. The film was at it's best about the boys misconceptions about sex but got rather dark when it involved drugs. One thing is for sure, you will probably hate this film or laugh yourself silly. Four stars for a flawed brave attempt at a cute coming of age film.

  • 2

    Good Boys

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 1:04:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Over done. Ridiculously stupid characters and stupid story line.