Greater Ottawa Movies

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Score: 5.44 / 10

Director: André Øvredal
Producer: Elizabeth Grave, Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale, Jason F. Brown, Sean Daniel
Studio: Entertainment One
Starring: Zoe Margaret Colletti, Michael Garza, Gabriel Rush, Austin Abrams, Dean Norris, Gil Bellows, Lorraine Toussaint, Austin Zajur, Natalie Ganzhorn
Rating: 14A
Genre: Horror
Running Time: 111 minutes

Write a Review


Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark movie reviews

  • 8

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Monday, September 2, 2019 7:25:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Neat little scary stories. I liked it. Definitely aimed for younger audiences but fun all the same.

  • 7

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Thursday, August 29, 2019 7:46:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved this movie from beginning to end! Pure classic horror that kept me at the edge of my seat. Yes, it was scary indeed! If you like the television series Are You Afraid of the Dark then you will enjoy this movie. I hope more movies like this will be made in the future and can't wait for part 2 of this :)

  • 2

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Monday, August 26, 2019 11:59:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Worst horror movie I've seen this year, total flop. Just re read the books..👎👎💩

  • 3

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Monday, August 26, 2019 11:04:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    My issue with this movie is that it should not have been a movie, but a TV series, or broken up into several short films. The stories deserve a lot more screen time than they could receive from a 1.5 hour film. As it is, the movie is basically a watered-down version of IT, with a lot less suspense and characters for whom I could not bring myself to care about.

  • 1

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Friday, August 23, 2019 5:16:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    made little sense

  • 7

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Thursday, August 22, 2019 6:43:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I gave it 4 outta 5, because the storyline is definitely there...I did enjoy it. Wished the effects were better

  • 2

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Sunday, August 18, 2019 8:50:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Terrible

  • 7

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Thursday, August 15, 2019 10:37:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I enjoyed how the tales were brought to life in this movie set around Halloween in a haunted house. A nice change from the typical slasher movie.

  • 8

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Thursday, August 15, 2019 7:40:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was an alright movie overall and it’s more creepy than “scary” it even better if you’ve read the books

  • 7

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Thursday, August 15, 2019 4:29:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved the fact that it was old fashioned scary, more about being frightened than made sick with blood and gore.